Shakil Afridi case will be reviewed, Nawaz assures US: Report

Published: October 28, 2013
Email
Dr Shakil Afridi. PHOTO: AFP

Dr Shakil Afridi. PHOTO: AFP

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif assured US congressmen and activists during his recent visit to the US that his government will reconsider Dr Shakil Afridi’s case, Fox News reported.

Afridi helped CIA agents in their hunt for al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden. He was sentenced to 33 years in prison without having an opportunity to defend himself.

According to the report, Nawaz – in a private meeting with congressional representatives and a non-government individual – committed to task law officials with reviewing the prosecution process for Afridi.

Reportedly, Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee Ed Royce with Robert Lorsch of the Free Afridi Campaign “heavily pressured the Pakistani leadership about releasing the doctor and allowing him a life in the United States.”

Lorsch told Fox News: “What they (Pakistani government) do with Dr Afridi is how Pakistan will be judged as a democracy by the rest of the world.'”

“This was first time that the leadership in Pakistan realized the importance of Dr Afridi not as a political bargaining tool but as a symbol of how freedom-loving American people regard Pakistan,” Lorsch added.

______________________________________________________________

Do you think the government should review Dr Shakil Afridi's case?

     View Results


Polls are non-scientific, reflect only the online audience and can be manipulated.
 Loading ...

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (30)

  • Iram
    Oct 28, 2013 - 12:59PM

    Review means that my lord we will find a way to free him, give us time.

    Recommend

  • Talat Haque
    Oct 28, 2013 - 1:20PM

    You can see Foxes worry about their own! pack loyalty ! ……….. live and let live, I say!

    Recommend

  • Observer
    Oct 28, 2013 - 1:20PM

    Pakistanis live in alternate reality, they jail the person who helped to find the terrorist, and they hide the terrorist for over 10 years while getting the money to find him.

    Recommend

  • Fahim
    Oct 28, 2013 - 1:40PM

    One of my colleague told me that OBL operation was a drama ! I asked so do you support releasing shakil afridi as this incident never happened ?

    Recommend

  • PeaceMonger
    Oct 28, 2013 - 2:14PM

    Dr.Afridi is a hero for the rest of the world ! Free the great man Mr.Sharif !!

    Recommend

  • Shazia Malik
    Oct 28, 2013 - 2:39PM

    PMLN is just a feudal party with fake degree holders. See how NS has kneeled in front of USA. Really shameful to say that he is our PM.Recommend

  • Rehan
    Oct 28, 2013 - 2:52PM

    How hopeless we are :) We accepted that US doesnot want to talk about Afia ! But we are assuring them that we wont hurt your boy “Afridi” !

    Recommend

  • Uza Syed
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:18PM

    Let Dr Shakeel Afridi go. He did what we as a nation committed to do which was go after all terrorists including the chief terrorist OBL. Afridi should be honoured and treated as hero of the freedom loving people of the free world including the peace loving and freedom aspiring Pakistani people.

    Recommend

  • Uzair Malik
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:22PM

    I don’t even think there was any OBL.
    But if they release him, it will be a message to the future traitors that the US will stand with you.
    When it comes to their ‘interests’ then it’s about democracy!

    Recommend

  • Aakashvaani
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:28PM

    @Fahim: I would love to know, what he said after!

    Recommend

  • Rizwan
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:33PM

    As the US is saying Afia sadiqqui issue is with the court so is the issue of Dr AfridiRecommend

  • AdnanA
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:44PM

    It is total rediculous that US is now admitting that Afridi was working for CIA and pressuring for his release.

    Recommend

  • Fact is Fact
    Oct 28, 2013 - 3:52PM

    Bank: Transaction done from Obama to Nawaz —> release the guy now :P

    Recommend

  • Pro
    Oct 28, 2013 - 4:26PM

    A BIG why? just because…

    Recommend

  • Zaka
    Oct 28, 2013 - 4:34PM

    PMLN freed Ramond Davis midnight, and will do the same for Shakil Afridi.

    Recommend

  • Anoni
    Oct 28, 2013 - 4:40PM

    Bring back the memories of Raymond Davis . What pathetic state we are inRecommend

  • azmat khan
    Oct 28, 2013 - 4:58PM

    Dr. Afridi’s case should be reviewed as he was not given a chance to defend and was sentenced in a haste.The world did not like it.

    Recommend

  • bangash
    Oct 28, 2013 - 5:39PM

    In the end Afridi will be exchanged for Afia Siddiqi.

    Recommend

  • vasan
    Oct 28, 2013 - 5:52PM

    First step : Dr Afridi’s name from ECL will be removed shortly.

    Recommend

  • Amir
    Oct 28, 2013 - 5:57PM

    What crime has he done? Hr has done the same what our government/military has been doing, aiding war on terror…apprehending the bad guys.

    Recommend

  • Blithe
    Oct 28, 2013 - 6:43PM

    @vasan:
    Relax guys , this your democratically elected government . They’ll never let this happen. NEVER!

    Recommend

  • Last Word
    Oct 28, 2013 - 6:59PM

    Dr Afridi should not only be acquitted honorably but also be awarded for his brave act.

    Recommend

  • unbelievable
    Oct 28, 2013 - 7:27PM

    I suspect the USA doesn’t mind Afridi locked up. Reminds the World of Pakistan’s true position on WOT and why they need to keep up drone attacks.

    Recommend

  • Raj - USA
    Oct 28, 2013 - 7:46PM

    @vasan:
    ECL does not stand in the way if you are flying in a special place out of Chakala Air Base.

    Recommend

  • Zain
    Oct 28, 2013 - 7:56PM

    @Uza Syed:

    You are on target. He should be given the highest civilian award. He did what our forces couldn’t do.

    Recommend

  • Naseer
    Oct 28, 2013 - 9:21PM

    Pakistan is a terrorist heaven. Anybody who will stand-up or talk against terrorism, will be punished by the terrorists, our courts, and lastly by our totally ignorant public. We live in our own world where Osama and Dr. Aafia are national heros; it’s very dark here.

    Recommend

  • unbelievable
    Oct 28, 2013 - 9:44PM

    Every September 11th the World will pause and remember – they will remember how OBL was killed by the American’s, Pakistan’s duplicity, and how Pakistan refused to find those who helped OBL but persecuted the one man who helped discover his location. No wonder Pakistan is less popular than N Korea – have you no shame?

    Recommend

  • Bakhtiyar Ghazi Khan
    Oct 29, 2013 - 7:51AM

    Indians, get a life and don’t meddle in Pakistan’s affairs.

    Recommend

  • Salman Ali
    Oct 29, 2013 - 9:47AM

    Dr Afridi has a right to a fair trial and he should receive one! However people seem to have forgotten the impact that the abbottabad incident has had on the polio drive. This single incident has crippled the polio drive in tribal areas. People seem to have lost their trust in the vaccination teams.

    Recommend

  • Faisal
    Oct 30, 2013 - 9:27AM

    He has yet to be sentenced in a proper court. Sentencing him to 33 yrs for helping TTP by a political agent is a miscarriage of justice. If u want to punish him, frame genuine charges, let him have a lawyer and get a neutral judge.

    Recommend

More in Pakistan