Severe impact: Pakistan ponders review of Indus Waters Treaty

Published: October 26, 2013
SHARES
Email
Minister for Water and Power Khwaja Asif  talking to the media in Islamabad. PHOTO: PID

Minister for Water and Power Khwaja Asif talking to the media in Islamabad. PHOTO: PID

ISLAMABAD: 

Federal Minister for Water and Power Khawaja Asif said Pakistan could face severe consequences of water scarcity in the coming few years and an Ethiopia-like situation may occur here due to the water blocked by India.

Addressing a press conference on Friday, Asif said the Indus Waters Treaty was not in favour of Pakistan. The government would decide whether it needs to be reviewed or not.

“The water issue has become a matter of life and death for us and we will have to face severe shortage in the coming 10 to 15 years,” he said, adding that previous governments made wrong decisions causing water crisis and today the country is paying the price.

The minister said that India was blocking water and constructing dams on Pakistani rivers. He said that neighbouring countries should consider requirements of Pakistan before constructing their water reservoirs.

Asif said that to avert any unpleasant situation the government needs to adopt water conservation methods — it will also have to control its growing population.

Pakistan has concerns regarding Indus Waters Treaty as under this treaty Pakistan will get less water in the coming years. The government is seriously looking to review this treaty, Asif said.

Additional Indus water commissioner Sheraz Memon said that Pakistan had objection over seven projects of India. He said that India was using water from River Indus therefore the water level has reduced in the river.

He said that India was constructing 53 power projects and seven dams. It has completed 16 projects on river Chenab while another four are under construction.

Memon said India was constructing 850-megawatt Ratle project and warned that Pakistan will approach the International Court of Arbitration if India did not stop the construction of this project.

Published in The Express Tribune, October 26th, 2013.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (6)

  • Virkaul
    Oct 26, 2013 - 10:33AM

    I had read an honest comment by a Pakistani In Tribune in the month of April 2013 which I would like to reproduce here.

    As I wrote before, no where till date, it has been proven that India has done anything outside IWT or has violated it. Again and again, we have gone to international court, only to look like fools, when neutral experts holds India’s position high. Where are the facts? Why can Pak Govt put on website the flow of water every month from our sensors, along with historical flow? Our useless experts only knows how to waste public money and raise foolish slogans, without any factual basis. No doubt, no one listens to us……Hasan April 16, 2013

    Recommend

  • polpot
    Oct 26, 2013 - 10:48AM

    ” Pakistan could face severe consequences of water scarcity in the coming few years and an Ethiopia-like situation may occur here due to the water blocked by India.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    And Somalia like law situation and North Korea like international standing.
    And the Paki President said that Pakistan cannot get any worse.

    Recommend

  • polpot
    Oct 26, 2013 - 11:02AM

    “Asif said the Indus Waters Treaty was not in favour of Pakistan. The government would decide whether it needs to be reviewed or not.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Mr Minister isnt it obvious that if the treaty is not in favor of Pakistan then it needs to be reviewed.
    India challenges you to scrap the treaty and promises you that the outcome will be far adverse!.
    Maybe on his next trip to Washington NS will seek US intervention on Indus Water Treaty.

    Recommend

  • Dr.A.K.Tewari
    Oct 26, 2013 - 5:10PM

    The demand to review the IWT is with a bad intention just to create anti India feelings not only in Pakistan but also in other neighbouring countries . The minister is intending to involve China in this bilateral treaty where as China has nothing to do with Indus water . IWT is about 50 year old , so far remained in sleeping mode . Now when world bank accepted the EIA of the prjects and granted financial assistance, then such baseless allegations are being raised . Last year entire Pakistan was almosy innundated in the flood water and entire world has seen the ground situation on the TV screen then whom the minister is willinng to make fool . Ofcourse
    it is the people of Pakistan .

    Recommend

  • Realist
    Dec 4, 2013 - 2:57PM

    @Dr.A.K.Tewari: “Last year entire Pakistan was almosy innundated in the flood water and entire world has seen the ground situation on the TV screen then whom the minister is willinng to make fool “. That only happened once due to torrential monsoon rains. Rest of the year it dries up and its a fact. I agree India is not violating IWT but the treaty is becoming obsolete and needs to be revised as per current needs of Pakistan. If India thinks it can use this a weapon against Pakistan then all it also justifies all the atrocities Indian army is doing in Kashmir. India has become the biggest violator of human rights and its a fact.

    Recommend

  • Tani
    Dec 5, 2013 - 3:33AM

    @Realist: so u mean when the water reaches dangerous level above the dam’s normal water holding level. We should not let loose the dam, instead let the water doom build within it and let the dam break? , eventually letting whole water flowing to pakistan, submerging it or ours? Than the current arrangement where we open dams just to let excess flow of water till the water reaches normal water holding level? I am appalled by the level of stupidity. U admit we haven’t violated indus treaty then how can u accuse us of using it to destroy ur country when we are following rules?? As for as human rights issue I agree my government is handling horribly just like in all our states but tats congress issue ,our country party who people can throw out in next election if we don’t want them… As far as human rights record for terrorist and separatist goes, sorry no sympathies frm us over it. U want to bring change,join electoral system n bring tat, not bomb people and develop separatist agenda. What’s more ludicrous is u can only see humans rights in Kashmir, what abt ur China’s appalling human rights issue with Tibet? Saudi Arabic with its human rights record? Stop this hypocrisy u ain’t fighting for human rights but in the garb of human rights fighting to claim Kashmir.

    Recommend

More in Pakistan