Pakistan win 5th ODI by 4 wickets

Pakistan won the series 3-1.

July 24, 2013
Pakistan captain Misbahul Haq played a responsible innings steered Pakistan to within a run of victory. PHOTO: AFP

ST LUCIA: Pakistan beat West Indies by four wickets in the fifth and final One Day International to clinch the five match series by 3-1.

Pakistan captain Misbahul Haq played a responsible innings steered Pakistan to within a run of victory. Facing Holder in the final over as his team and fans waited on the captain to strike the winning run, he managed to lump it to midwicket where he was caught by DJ Bravo.  He made 63 runs off 93 balls. Earlier Ahmed Shahzad laid the foundation for Pakistan's victory with a responsible 64 runs off 100 balls. Umar Akmal made a quick 37 off just 28 ball as Pakistan pushed to beat the weather.


Earlier, a Fiery Dwayne Bravo helped Windies to post a formidable total of 242 for 7, after being put into bat by Pakistan, espncricinfo reported.

Bravo was the highest scorer, as he scored 48 runs off just 27 balls, Johnson Charlse and Marlon Samuels made 43 and 45 respectively.

Junaid Khan was the pick of the bowlers, he took three wickets for 48 off his 10 overs, while Muhammad Irfan took two for 34 off his 10 overs.

Earlier, Misbahul Haq won the toss and yet again, put his opponents in to bat first, reports Cricinfo.

Pakistan brought in Asad Ali to replace Wahab Riaz for the final ODI.

West Indies also made a change replacing Kemar Roach, who came up with a sore back this morning, with Tino Best.

This is the fifth instance in this series that the team winning the toss is choosing to field first. Misbah was quoted as saying that batting second could be easier because "the wicket gets flat in the afternoon".

Another factor that must be on his mind is rain, whose persistent interference and the subsequent D/L revised targets are known to usually work more in favour of the team batting second.


1. Nasir Jamshed, 2. Ahmed Shehzad, 3. Mohammad Hafeez, 4. Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), 5. Haris Sohail, 6. Umar Akmal (wk), 7. Shahid Afridi, 8. Asad Ali, 9. Junaid Khan, 10. Saeed Ajmal, 11. Mohammad Irfan

West Indies

1. Devon Smith, 2. Johnson Charles (wk), 3. Darren Bravo, 4. Marlon Samuels, 5. Chris Gayle, 6. Lendl Simmons, 7. Dwayne Bravo (capt), 8. Darren Sammy, 9. Sunil Narine, 10. Tino Best, 11. Jason Holder


Cricket | 9 years ago | Reply

@Ali: If it comes to winning matches, then I am afraid that Misbah's has got a better record. Giving you a recent example, Pakistan won two matches against SA in SA in the 5 match series. In both the matches Misbah was the key to success. And in both the matches he was given a helping a hand by Shoaib Malik. Had he given the same helping hand in other matches Pakistan could have the ODI series against SA in SA which would have been historical. As far as chasing big totals are concerned, this has been an area of concern for Pakistan even long before Misbah's advent. In fact before the 5th ODI, many would not give Pakistan a chance to chase anything beyond 225+. So the successful 243 chase is not only a good sign for Pakistan cricket but also shows the aggressive attitude of Misbah by electing to bat second after winning the match. @Afridi fan: I have already mentioned that Pakistan won 2 ODIs against SA in SA, and could have won more, both with Misbah's woodwork, so your assertion that Misbah cannot win matches for Pakistan against SA and other big teams appears not true. Regarding not giving Afridi full quota of overs, I wish you could have watched the last 3 ODIs, where Afridi was not only expensive but released the pressure from WI batsmen during the middle overs. And this is really interesting to note that you don't expect Umer Akmal and Afridi doing what they are supposed to do and take Mibah for granted. Should Misbah first recollect the collapsed batting line, steer through the middle overs singlehandedly while batsmen on the other end keep giving their wickets, and then also slog in the finishing overs? This is too much to expect in a team game, imo. @Pakistan: I remember the old times of Inzi, Yousuf, and even of Miandad. During all these times, Pakistan's strategy was always saving wickets for slogging in the last overs. This is also evident from the fact that Pakistan has the best record of batting in the last 10 overs. 1992 WC Semi Final is one loud example, The real problem with Pakistan is not the slow pace in the middle overs, but the irresponsible attitude of the top order which can be easily bet upon. And the solution is to teach these players how to not throw away their wicket until last overs and the result would be positive. Ahmed Shahzad tried that in the final ODI by improving his temperament which proved pivotal for the pleasant ending.

Fawad | 9 years ago | Reply

No doubt without Umar akmal, opening stand Ahmed shehzad, middle order Misbah and Afridi six make it a winning combination!

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read