Khattak sworn in as 26th chief minister of K-P

Sikandar Sherapao, Sirajul Haq sworn in as senior ministers.

Abdur Rauf May 31, 2013
Senior PTI leader Pervaiz Khattak takes oath at the Governor House. Sixty-three-year-old Khattak will serve as the 26th chief minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa. PHOTO: APP


Pervaiz Khattak was sworn in as the 26th chief minister (CM) of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) on Friday at the Governor House.

K-P Governor Shaukatullah Khan administered the oath to the Paksitan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader in the lawn of the Governor House in a ceremony attended by around 3,000 people.

Following Khattak taking the oath, Governor Shaukatullah went on to administer oaths to parliamentary leaders Sikandar Sherapao of the Qaumi Watan Party and Sirajul Haq of the Jamaat-e-Islami. Both Sherpao and Haq were sworn in as senior ministers. The ceremony was arranged after a session of the K-P Assembly during which a vote was conducted for the CM slot.

Apart from the newly-elected MPAs, leaders of various political parties, high-ranking government officials and foreign guests including officials of the American and Iranian consulates also attended the ceremony.

PTI activists along with people from various walks of life also thronged to the venue. The crowds caused traffic jams at Khyber Road and Abdul Qayyum Khan Road.

Following the ceremony, enthusiastic PTI workers were seen sitting on the chairs arranged for the CM and Governor, taking photographs.

“I entered Governor House for the first time and wanted to make it memorable,” said Abid Khan, while asking a friend to take a picture of him on the CM’s chair.

Published in The Express Tribune, June 1st, 2013.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read