National Language Authority renamed

The board will work for three years.

October 31, 2012

The National Language Authority (NLA) has been renamed as the National Language Promotion Department (NLPD), and will work as an attached department of the National Heritage and Integration Ministry, according to a notification issued by the Ministry of Culture on Tuesday.

Federal Minister for National Heritage and Integration Samina Khaild Ghurki has formed an advisory board comprising of 15 members, including 10 noted Urdu scholars from all over Pakistan and five government representatives.

The members include Fatima Jinnah Women University Vice Chancellor Dr Sameena Ameen Qadir, Bahauddin Zakariya University Urdu Department President Dr Rubina Tareen, former Oriental College teacher and prominent historian Dr Tabassum Kashmiri, Karachi University Urdu Department President Dr Uzma Farman, Shah Abdul Latif Bhatai University Urdu Department President Dr Mohammad Yusuf Khushk, and literary figure Dr Salahuddin Darvesh are on the board.

The board will work for three years.

Published in The Express Tribune, October 31st, 2012.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read