Sialkot to face Auckland, county in qualifiers

Holders Mumbai grouped with Chennai in CLT20.

News Desk July 27, 2012

Sialkot Stallions will take on Auckland Aces and an English domestic T20 side in the qualifying stage of the 2012 Champions League Twenty20.

The Pakistani Twenty20 winners will take on the New Zealand outfit on October 9 in Johannesburg followed by the county side on October 11.

One of the three qualifiers will book a spot in Group A, which consists of IPL teams including Kolkata and Delhi while Perth Scorchers and Titans complete the line-up.

The other qualifying group consists of Trinidad & Tobago, Sri Lanka’s domestic T20 winner and England’s T20 runner-up. One of the three qualifiers will then compete in Group B that features IPL outfit Chennai Super Kings, Highveld Lions, Sydney Sixers and defending champions Mumbai Indians.

Titans will play Scorchers in the tournament opener on October 13 while KKR play Delhi. The last-four stage kicks off on October 25 with the final set to take place on October 28.

The fourth edition tournament features a total of 14 teams and 29 matches across four venues — Centurion, Johannesburg, Durban and Cape Town.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 28th, 2012.