Cricket: Big Bash T20 league kicks off today

Afridi, Razzaq, Warne to take part in 8-team extravaganza.

Afp December 15, 2011

SYDNEY: The glitzy Big Bash League begins in Sydney today with some of the biggest stars of international Twenty20 cricket, including former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi, all-rounder Abdul Razzaq and leg-spinning great Shane Warne, in attendance.

Besides Afridi, Razzaq and Warne, West Indians Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard, South African Herschelle Gibbs, as well as Pakistan fast-bowler Rana Navedul Hasan will be taking part. Cricket Australia is looking to create a T20 tournament in the same mould as the Indian Premier League with eight city-based teams competing for the title.

Warne expressed excitement at the prospect of an international standard T20 league being introduced in Australia.

“It’s fantastic for Australian cricket to have city-based franchise cricket,” said Warne. “I think we’ve got the opportunity to have a world-class Twenty20 tournament.”

The Big Bash will run until January 28, which coincides with the scheduled fifth day of Australia’s fourth Test with India in Adelaide.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 16th, 2011.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ