Pakistan’s likely team for T20 World Cup encounter with India

Imad Wasim expected to replace underperforming Azam Khan for the crucial clash

News Desk June 08, 2024
Team Pakistan. PHOTO: FILE

In a highly anticipated T20 World Cup 2024 match, Pakistan and India are set to compete at Nassau County International Stadium on Sunday, June 9, with the game kicking off at 7:30 PM (PST).

India approaches this encounter with momentum from their recent victory over Ireland, while Pakistan aims to rebound from a dramatic Super Over loss to the United States.

Pakistan's prospects have received a significant boost with the return of Imad Wasim. Imad, who missed the previous game against the USA due to injury, has been declared fit, head coach Gary Kirsten confirmed during Saturday’s pre-match press briefing.

Imad’s inclusion is likely to come at the expense of Azam Khan. Azam’s recent form has been underwhelming, with three ducks in his last six T20I appearances, prompting the team management to consider this strategic change.

Also read: ‘Cornered’ Pakistan face India in T20 World Cup blockbuster

The final composition of Pakistan’s squad may also be influenced by the pitch and weather conditions at Nassau County International Stadium.

With a 50 per cent chance of rain forecasted in New York on Sunday and the possibility of overcast skies, Pakistan might lean towards a robust four-man pace attack featuring Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, and Haris Rauf.

Conversely, if the pitch is more conducive to spin, Abrar Ahmed could be brought into the lineup, replacing one of the pacers.

Gary Kirsten emphasised the importance of adaptability, noting that the final selection of the playing XI will depend on a detailed assessment of the pitch conditions on match day.

“We are looking at the fitness of a couple of players so the playing XI has not been decided yet. The players know about [the game of] one another, we will have to play our best game according to the conditions,” Kirsten said.

Expected playing XI

Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah/Abrar Ahmed


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ