PTI names Zafar as Senate opposition leader

Omar Ayub issued a notification on Saturday, announcing addition of five more members to PTI’s Political Committee

Our Correspondent April 06, 2024
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Senator Syed Ali Zafar. PHOTO: X/@SyedAliZafar1


The PTI has nominated Senator Ali Zafar as its candidate for the position of leader of the opposition in the Senate, with Senator Aon Abbas designated as the PTI’s parliamentary leader in the upper house.

PTI Chairman Gohar Ali Khan announced this decision on Saturday following a meeting with PTI founder and former prime minister Imran Khan at Adiala Jail.

Meanwhile, PTI Secretary-General Omar Ayub issued a notification on Saturday, announcing the addition of five more members to the PTI’s Political Committee.

Read also: ECP notifies 37 Senate polls winners

These members include Firdous Shamim Naqvi and Haleem Adil Sheikh from Sindh; Azam Khan Swati from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Salar Khan Kakar and Qasim Khan Suri from Balochistan.

On Friday, Imran Khan formed a 14-member Political Committee chaired by Omar Ayub.

Other members of the committee include Gohar Ali Khan, Senator Shibli Faraz, Ali Amin Gandapur, Asad Qaiser, Sher Afzal Marwat, Shah Farman, Raoof Hasan, Aon Abbas, Hammad Azhar, Atif Khan, Hafiz Farhat, Mian Aslam Iqbal, and Khalid Khurshid.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ