PPP awards tickets to seasoned veterans

Party announces names of 53 NA, 119 PA candidates

Saleem Jhandir January 06, 2024
Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari addressing a workers' convention in Raiwind on January 4, 2023. SCREENGRAB


The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) on Friday its candidates for the upcoming general elections to the national and provincial assemblies from Sindh, relying heavily on a pool of seasoned veterans and familiar faces with established track records.

According to the announcement, the PPP awarded ticket to the party chairman, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari for NA-194, Larkana, while Co-Chairman Azif Zardari would contest from NA-207, Shaheed Benazirabad.

Azif Zardari’s two sisters, Faryal Talpur and Azra Pechuho have been awarded ticket for Sindh Assembly constituencies of PS-10, Larkana, and PS-36, Shaheed Benazirabad, respectively. Former chief minister Murad Ali Shah would retain his constituency of PS-77 Jamshoro.

The PPP issued a list of party ticket-holders for 53 National Assembly seats and 119 Sindh Assembly seats. However, the PPP leadership held back on awarding tickets on 9 provincial assembly seats because of various reasons.

These constituencies include PS-70, Badin; PS-31, Khairpur; PS-17, Ghotki; PS-88, PS-117, PS-109 and PS-90 in Karachi; NA-232, Karachi. There has been no decision on awarding tickets to candidates from Kashmore because of a dispute between Bijarani and Mazari tribes.

According to the list, the PPP candidates for the National Assembly seats are: NA-190 (Jacobabad) Aijaz Ahmed Jakhrani; NA-191 (Jacobabad cum Kashmore) Ali Jan Mazari; NA-193 (Shikarpur) Shehryar Khan Mahar; NA-194 (Larkana-I) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari; NA-195 (Larkana-II) Nazir Ahmed Bughio; NA-196 (Kambar Shahdadkot-I) Bilawal Bhutto Zardari; NA-197 (Kambar Shahdadkot-II) Aamir Khan Magsi; NA-198 (Ghotki-I) Sardar Khalid Lund; NA-199 (Ghtoki-II) Ali Gohar Khan Mahar; INA-201 (Sukkur-II) Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah; NA-202 (Khairpur-I) Nafisa Shah; NA-203 (Khairpur-II) Syed Fazal Shah; NA-204 (Khairpur-III) Syed Javaid Ali Shah; NA-205 (Naushehro Feroze-I) Syed Ibrar Shah; NA-206 (Naushehro Feroze-II) Zulfiqar Ali Behan; NA-207 (Shaheed Benazirabad-I) Asif Ali Zardari; NA-208 (Shaheed Benazirabad-II) Syed Ghulam Mustafa Shah; NA-209 (Sanghar-I) Shazia Atta Marri; NA-210 (Sanghar-II) Salahuddin Junejo; NA-211 (Mirpurkhas-I) Pir Aftab Shah Jeelani; NA-212 (Mirpurkhas-II) Mir Munawar Ali Talpur; NA-213 (Umerkot) Nawab Muhammed Yousuf Talpur; NA-214 (Tharparkar-I) Pir Ameer Ali Shah Jillani; NA-215 (Tharparkar-II) Dr Mahesh Malani; NA-216 (Matiari) Makhdoom Jameeluz Zaman; NA-217 (Tando Allah Yar) Zulfiqar Ali Bachani; NA-218 (Hyderabad-I) Tariq Shah Jamote; NA-219 (Hyderabad-II) Ali Muhammed Sahto; NA-221 (Tando Muhammad Khan) Syed Naveed Qamar; NA-222 (Badin-I) Mir Ghulam Ali Talpur; NA-223 (Badin-II) Haji Rasool Bux Chandio ; NA-224 (Sujawal) Syed Ayaz Shah Shirazi ; NA-225 (Thatta) Sadiq Ali Memon; NA-226 (Jamshoro) Malik Asad Sikander; NA-227 (Dadu-I) Irfan Ali Leghari ; NA-228 (Dadu-II) Rafiq Ahmed Jamali ; NA-229 (Malir-I) Jam Abdul Karim Jokhio ; NA-230 (Malir-II) Agha Rafiullah; NA-231 (Malir-III) Abdul Hakeem Baloch ; NA-235 (Karachi east-I) Asif Khan ; NA-236 (Karachi East-II) Muzammil Qureshi ; NA-237 (Karachi East-III) Col (retd) Asad Alam Niazi ; NA-238 (Karachi East-IV) Zafar Jhandeer; NA-239 (Karachi South-I) Sardar Nabeel Gabol ; NA-241 (Karachi South-III) Dr Mirza Ikhtiar Baig ; NA-242 (Karachi Keamari-I) Abdul Qadir Mandokhel; NA-243 (Karachi Kemari-II) Abdul Qadir Patel ; NA-244 (Karachi West-I) Abdul Barr ; NA-245 (Karachi West-II) Siddique Akbar ; NA-246 (Karachi West-III) Waseem Akhtar ; NA-247 (Karachi Central-I) Maaz Shaikh ; NA-248 (Karachi Central-II) Muhammad Hassan Khan ; NA-249 (Karachi Central-III) Rao Waheed.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ