Karachi by-poll: One dead, several injured in clashes between rival political parties

PSP, MQM-P and TLP accuse each other of opening fire, resorting to violence

​ Our Correspondents June 16, 2022


At least one dead and over a dozen injured in armed clashes between political workers of rival parties — PSP, MQM-P and TLP — during the by-election in Karachi’s NA-240 constituency on Thursday.

JPMC head Dr Shahid Rasul confirmed to The Express Tribune that the hospital received three injured persons and one body.

MQM-P leader and federal minister Aminul Haq said at least 10 workers of his party sustained injuries during the clash.

Similarly, the TLP has said that workers of a political party opened fire on the car of its chief Saad Hussain Rizvi.

The armed activists also demolished the election camps of their rival parties and exchange of fire between them caused a stampede in the area.

Tensions flared in the area after the incident with a contingent of police and Rangers reached the spot to bring the situation under control.

SP Landhi said that efforts were being made to control the commotion and some persons were detained on the spot.

Meanwhile, Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah, taking notice of the firing incident in NA-240, said that nobody would be allowed to take the law in his hands.

He directed IG Police Ghulam Nabi Memon and the Karachi police chief to take strict action against the persons involved in firing incidents and skirmishes.

“We can’t allow anybody to disrupt the peaceful polling process,” he said.

The chief minister also urged political parties participating in the bye-election to demonstrate responsible attitude. “We are political people and should not allow violence.”

On its official Twitter handle, the PSP accused the TLP activists of opening fire during the media talk of its chairman Syed Mustafa Kamal and added that the party's central leader sustained injuries.

The party also accused the MQM-P workers of attempting to “assassinate” Kamal in Landhi-6 area of the constituency.

The PSP claimed that the MQM-P in connivance with presiding officers was rigging the election, saying they would not let them win the poll through “stamping”.

Polling process

Polling for by-poll in National Assembly constituency NA-240 began at 8am and continued till 5pm without any interruption.

The contestants include Muhammad Abu Bakar of MQM-P, Shahzada Shahbaz of Tehreek Labaik Pakistan, Shabir Ahmed Qaim Khani of PSP, Syed Rafiuddin of Mohajir Qaumi Movement, Nasir Rahim of PPP, Syed Faizan Anis of PML-N, and Tanveer Ahmed of Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA).

The PTI has boycotted the election while Jamaat-e-Islami is also not participating in the election.

The total number of registered voters in this constituency of the National Assembly is 529,855 of which 235,470 are female.

Security plan

More than 1,500 Karachi police officers and personnel were deployed during the election while special police contingents were also formed to deal with any emergency, especially at the polling stations declared sensitive and highly sensitive.

Karachi Police spokesperson told that there are 529,855 registered voters in this constituency. 309 polling stations have been set up in 133 buildings for the by-election.

According to the spokesperson, Sindh Rangers officers and men also performed security duties for the by-elections.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read