Philippines to lift Covid travel ban on 10 countries including Pakistan

Travellers will have to spend 14 days in quarantine upon arrival, says presidential spokesperson

Reuters/news Desk September 05, 2021


Philippines is lifting a coronavirus ban on travellers from 10 countries – including Pakistan, the United Arab Emirates and India – the presidential spokesperson said on Saturday.

The ban, introduced in April then expanded to more countries in July to prevent the spread of the more contagious Delta variant, will be lifted on Monday, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said in a statement.

Read more: Turkey ends quarantine for Covid vaccinated Pakistani visitors

Travellers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, UAE, Oman, Thailand, Malaysia and Indonesia will have to spend 14 days in quarantine upon arrival, Roque said.

On Friday, Turkey updated its measures for passengers entering the country from abroad in a bid to curb the spread of the Covid-19 pandemic, the Interior Ministry said in a circular set to go into effect on Saturday.

Also read: EU drops US from list of Covid-safe countries for travel

Travel rules for Pakistan, Bangladesh and India have been eased, and passengers from these countries, or those who have been to these countries in the last 14 days, will be requested to submit a negative PCR test result obtained up to 72 hours beforehand.

Earlier this month, the UAE had lifted a ban on transit passenger traffic from Pakistan, India, Nigeria and other countries from August 5.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read