Notification Issued: Nawabshah part of Hyderabad division

Previously it was part of the Sukkur division.

Express August 07, 2011


In a notification issued by the provincial government Shaheed Benazirabad, also known as Nawabshah, has become a part of the Hyderabad division. Previously it was part of the Sukkur division.

The Hyderabad revenue division and judicial district will now comprise six districts including Dadu, Thatta, Badin, Jamshoro and Shaheed Benazirabad. The Sukkur division will include Ghotki, Khairpur and Naushehro Feroz. In the 18th century Nawabshah was part of the Hyderabad division but was established as a city in 1912. After the assassination of Benazir Bhutto, a resolution was passed in the assembly to rename Nawabshah after her.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 7th, 2011.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read