Azad Jammu & Kashmir: Chaudhry Majeed elected Prime Minister

Chaudhry Abdul Majeed of PPP secured 35 votes, Raja Farooq Haider Khan of PML-N eleven votes.

Express July 26, 2011

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Chaudhry Abdul Majeed was elected as the eleventh Prime Minister of Azad Jammu & Kashmir on Tuesday.

Newly elected members of the Azad Jammu & Kashmir Legislative Assembly voted for the Prime Minister slot in Muzaffarabad.

Chaudhry Abdul Majeed secured 35 votes and Raja Farooq Haider Khan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) managed eleven votes. Muslim Conference and Muttihada Qaumi Movement legislators also voted for the PPP candidate.

President Asif Ali Zardari, Prime Minister Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani and Chief Minister Gilgit-Baltistan Syed Mehdi Shah congratulated Chaudhary Abdul Majeed for becoming the Prime Minister.

Earlier, 46 elected members of the legislative assembly took the oath in the session chaired by outgoing speaker Choudhary Anwar-ul-Haq.


Dr. Salim | 10 years ago | Reply

Interesting! A non Kashmiri becoming a minister of Kashmir. As much as I hate to say this but at least in "Kafur" India occupied Kashmir, the elected minister is still a Kashmiri. After changing the demography of Kashmir do we still have any right to call for UN resolution ?

Rock | 10 years ago | Reply

So how many states are there in Azad Jammu & Kashmir and who are all chief ministers of these states. Also tell us about the constitution of Azad Jammu & Kashmir.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read