PTI announces new organisational set-up

Published: October 22, 2019


ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has announced its new organisational set-up in which administrative structure at the level of regions has been constituted across the country, while the party would hold consultation for the constitution of a region in Sindh.

The step has been taken with the approval of the PTI Chairman and PM Imran Khan, said chief organiser Saifullah Khan Niazi in official notification of the constitution of the new organisational structure issued by party’s central media department.

Niazi said: “The PTI is the only party that in light of its chairman’s vision is moving forward towards a modern and organised political entity at a fast pace.”

He said the task of giving final shape to the party’s constitution – in light of the notification issued on March 13, 2019, by the PTI chairman and the party constitution – has been entrusted to him for which the democratic norm of consultation has been adopted.

For the transfer of the authority at the lower-level it has been decided to constitute regions, which are being implemented with the approval of Imran Khan, he added.

Niazi said that a region based on all divisions is being formed in Azad Jammu and Kashmir while in the Gilgit-Baltistan region all the divisions of the area would be included.

The chief organiser said the party chairman has also approved the formation of the regional structure of the federal capital. In this regard, he said three districts have been included in the Islamabad region according to the National Assembly constituencies.

As per the notification, Punjab has been divided into three regions: North, Central and South Punjab regions.

North region would be composed of Rawalpindi, Sargodha and Faisalabad divisions while the central region would include Lahore, Gujranwala, Sahiwal, and Multan. Moreover, divisions of Bahawalpur and Dera Ghazi Khan would be part of the south region.

The K-P has been divided into four regions namely Malakand, Hazara, Peshawar, and South K-P.

Malakand region would include the Malakand division and the Hazara division would be part of the Hazara region. Peshawar region would be composed of Peshawar and Mardan division while the South K-P region would include divisions of Kohat, Bannu, and Dera Ismail Khan.

Balochistan province has been divided into North Eastern, South Eastern, North Western, and South Western regions, which accordingly includes Zhob and Sibi divisions, Naseerebad and Qalat divisions, Quetta division and Makran and Rakhsan divisions.

On South Punjab, Islamabad, G-B and AJK, Niazi said the regional boundaries of such areas were not being changed and the existing administrative structure would remain in place and continue to dispense their responsibilities. “However, instead of the province, the word region will be used,” said Niazi.

He also directed the office bearers of the areas concerned to bring about posting of district governing bodies according to the procedure given in the party constitution.

Separately, an order was issued to the Office of International Chapters (OIC) secretary to speed up the party’s activities in light of the OIC by-laws approved by the central executive committee.

Niazi said the OIC secretary must complete the process of appointing deputy secretaries for all regions.

In a statement, he said the approval process of the proposed amendment would officially be completed according to the procedure defined by the party’s constitution after the formation of the national council.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan