18 foreigners among 127 people to be conferred civil awards on March 23

The investiture ceremony would take place on Pakistan Day

Our Correspondent March 10, 2019
The investiture ceremony would take place on Pakistan Day. PHOTO: FILE

ISLAMABAD: The government has issued a list of 127 persons, including 18 foreigners, who will be conferred civil awards by President Dr Arif Alvi on March 23 for showing excellence in their respective fields.

The investiture ceremony of the awards would take place on March 23, a Cabinet Division press release said on Sunday.

The 'Nishan-i-Imtiaz' would be awarded to Shoaib Sultan Khan in the field of public service. While, four foreign nationals including Seshira Eto of Japan, Xu Shaoshi of China and Ismail Kahraman of Turkey would be given 'Hilal-i-Pakistan' award.

As many as eight personalities -- Zaheer Ayub Baig (Punjab), Ghulam Asghar (Islamabad), Prof Dr Tasawar Hayat (Punjab), Wasim Akram (Punjab), Waqar Younis (Punjab), Prof Dr Recep Akdag (Turkey), Dr Michael Jansen (Germany) and Prof Abdul Bari Khan (Sindh) -- would be decorated with 'Hilal-i-Imtiaz' award.

Whereas, three Chinese nationals -- including Kong Xuanyou, Wang Xiaotao and Hu Xiaolian -- would get 'Hilal-i-Quaid-i-Azam' award.

Four personalities -- including Wajiha Haris (Romania), Mohammad Ilyas Khan (AJ&K), Long Yuxiang (China) and Lin Yi (China) to be decorated with 'Sitara-i-Pakistan'.

Pakistan to confer its highest civilian award on Saudi crown prince

The Sitara-i-Shuja'at award would go to Muhammad Idrees Shaheed, Shaheed Nawabzada Mir Siraj Raisani (Balochistan), Asad Ali (Sindh) and Shaheed Mairaj Ahmed Umrani (Balochistan).

As many as 34 personalities -- including Muhammad Arshad (Punjab), Dr Imtiaz Ahmed (Sindh), Dr Syed Muhammad Kamran Majeed, Dr Muhammad Zafar-Uz-Zaman (Punjab), Lt-Col (retd) Manzoor Ahmad (Punjab), Prof Dr Shahid A. Sami, Dr Pervaiz A Chaudhry, Dr Prof (retd) M Lateef Chaudhry, Dr Inayatullah Padhiar, Kaleemullah Lashari (Sindh), Muhammad Ahmed Shah (Sindh), Sajjad Ali (Sindh), late Munir Hussain (Punjab), Babra Sharif (Punjab), Kamil Khan Mumtaz (Punjab), Attaullah Khan Esakhelvi, Professor Sahibzada Hameedullah, Yasir Shah, Shamim Ahmed Sheikh (Canada ), Dr Asif M Rehman (USA), Dr Ziaul Hasan (Pakistan), Steven J Burian (USA), Dr James A Tebbe (USA), Lou Ronghuai (China), Khawaja Masood khtar, Syed Abu Ahmad Akif (Sindh), Pir Muhammad Diwan (Sindh), Muhammad Bashir Farooqui (Sindh), Samar Ali Khan (Sindh), Iqbal Ali Lakhani, Aqeel Karim Dhedhi(Sindh), YounusTabba, Saima Shahbaz Malik and Nilofer Saeed (Sindh) would receive 'Sitara-i-Imtiaz' award.

The president's award for Pride of Performance would be given to 28 persons -- including Hamid Mahmood (Punjab), Muhammad Saeed Ur Rehman (Punjab), Muhammad Shahid Saleem (Punjab), Arshad Ali (Punjab), Dr Salma Khanam (Punjab), Vaqar Akhtar (K-P), Raza Ellahi (K-P), Waqar Uz Zaman (K-P), Muhammad Hasan (Sindh), Engr Dr NasirMahmood Khan (Punjab), Prof Dr Sarosh Hashmat Lodhi (Sindh), Prof Dr Umbreen Javaid (Punjab), Muhammad Shabbir Jan (Sindh), Iftikhar Ahmad Thakar (Punjab), Ishrat Fatima (Islamabad), Siyani Khatoon (Sindh), Bashir Ahmad (Punjab), Reema Khan (Punjab), Nasir Adeeb, Taj Baloch (Sindh), Sofia Yazdani, Muhammad Arshad Sharif (Punjab), Muhammad Inam Butt (Punjab), Luqman Ali Afzal, Sana Ullah Ghuman, Muhammad Ashraf Ali (late) (Gilgit-Baltistan), Rasheed Masood Khan (Balochistan) and Muhammad AmanUllah Khan (Punjab).

The 'Sitara-i-Quaid-i- Azam' award would be given to Naveed Ahmed Sherwani (USA), while 'Tamgha-i-Pakistan' would go to Li Xuedon (China).

As many as 23 personalities -- including  Muhammad Hanif Bashir (Punjab), Imran Aqiq (Punjab), Qamar Zaman (K-P), Muhammad Fayyaz Tipu (K-P), Syed Naymatullah (Balochistan), Syed Ghaib Ali Shah (Gilgit-Baltistan), Haji Zahid Khan (K-P), Khushal Khan  (K-P), Brig Rizwan Afzal (K-P), Muhammad Younis (Sindh), Sajid Hussain (Balochistan), Umer Sajid (Shaheed) (Punjab ), Dr Khalid Khan (K-P),  Muhammad Nouman Zafar (Punjab ), Wajahat Ullah Afridi (K-P), Syed Muhammad Omer Mobeen Jillani (Shaheed) (Punjab), Sub Maj (retd) Allah Ditta (Shaheed) (Punjab ), Muhammad Iqbal (Punjab), late Syed Fawad Ali (K-P), late Muhib Khan (K-P), Syed Shahrukh Haider Zaidi (Islamabad), late Saim Shafait (AJK) and Akram Khan (Shaheed) (Punjab) would receive Tamgha-i-Shuja'at.

Likewise, as many as 17 personalities -- Muhammad Yousaf Gondal (Punjab), Rana Muhammad Zaeem (Punjab), Dr Mazhar Iqbal (Punjab), Dr Shahzad Alam (Punjab), Dr Uzma Saleem (Gilgit-Baltistan), Dr Ikram Ali Malik (Islamabad), Dr Iftikhar Ahmad (K-P), Prof Dr Rukhsana Wamiq Zuberi (Sindh), Syed Sabihuddin Rehmani (Sindh), Syed Ali Abbas (Sindh), Muhammad Rafique Shad (Balochistan), Khawaja Safar Ali (K-P), Mehwish Hayat (Sindh), Sardar Ali Takkar (K-P), Akhtar Gul (K-P), Flt-Lt (retd) Muhammad Siddique Sheikh, (Punjab) and Malik Amin Aslam Khan (K-P) to be decorated with 'Tamgha-i-Imtiaz' award.

With additional input from APP


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ