Four policemen martyred in DI Khan attack

Search operation launched in the area after the attack

Ali Murad February 12, 2019
The police van which was attacked in DI Khan. -Photo: Express

PESHAWAR: Four police officials were martyred on Tuesday when unidentified assailants opened fire on a police patrol in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa’s (K-P) DI Khan.

The police van was attacked when it stopped at a gas station in the jurisdiction of Parovah police station. The police officer leading the patrol, SHO Tahir Nawaz, was wounded in the attack while two passerby also sustained injuries. The SHO has been shifted to a nearby hospital for medical assistance.

The martyred include Sepoy Mehrban, Sepoy Asif, Sepoy Sarfaraz, and Sepoy Javed.

Shortly after the incident, the local police launched a search operation in the neighbourhood to apprehend the suspects who had fled from the crime scene.

Two injured as police van targeted in DI Khan

Earlier in January, at least two police personnel were injured when explosives went off in Dera Ismail Khan’s Kolachi district.

Initial reports said a homemade bomb, planted in the jurisdiction of Kolachi Police Station, exploded near a police mobile patrolling the area. Driver Zahoor and constable Fareed were injured in the incident while the police van was damaged.

Shortly after the incident, the security officials launched a search operation in the area and discovered at least two more bombs planted across the road leading from Kalochi to Kanori. The explosives were defused by the bomb disposal squad.

The bombs reportedly targeted night patrolling team of the law enforcement agency (LEA). So far, several suspects have been arrested by the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Police.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read