MPAs-elect sworn in as Punjab Assembly holds session

Published: August 15, 2018


LAHORE: The newly-elected members of the Punjab Assembly took the oath on Wednesday as the provincial assembly held its inaugural session for the new five-year term.

Outgoing Speaker Rana Mohammad Iqbal administered the oath. The new speaker and deputy speaker of the house will be elected on August 16, while the election for the chief minister will be held a day after on August 17.

In the 371-member Punjab Assembly, the PTI is leading with 179 seats followed by the PML-N with 164 seats, the PML-Q with 10 seats and the PPP with seven seats. There are four independent candidates in the provincial legislature.

MPAs to take oath in maiden Sindh assembly session today

Elections were postponed in three constituencies and results of another three are withheld due to pending litigation. There are 66 reserved seats for women and eight for non-Muslims in the provincial legislature.

PTI in lead to form govt in Punjab as nine independent MPAs-elect join party

The PTI had won 119 seats through direct election, while 23 MPAs joined it later. Now on the basis of its 142 seats, it has been allocated 33 women’s seats and four non-Muslim’s seats.

The PML-N had won 129 seats while one independent candidate had joined it later. It has been allocated 30 women and four non-Muslim seats.

The PML-Q won seven general seats while one independent candidate joined it later. It has been allocated two women reserved seats. The PPP had won six general seats and one women seat has been given to it.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan