Surviving recount: Akram Durrani retains PK-90 seat

Published: August 1, 2018


PESHAWAR: Former provincial chief minister Akram Khan Durrani has retained his provincial assembly seat from Bannu following a recount in the constituency, election officials announced on Tuesday.

Durrani, who served as the chief minister of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) from 2002 to 2007 under the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) government, had been contesting the general elections from PK-90 in Bannu.

On July 25, the election commission had declared him as the winner on the seat, beating off competition from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Malik Adnan Khan.

Adnan had subsequently filed a request for a recount in the constituency.

The recount showed that Durrani had secured 32,795 votes compared to Adnan’s 32,767. The former K-P chief minister saw his lead erode from 173 votes to just 28 votes.

On the other hand, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has announced elections at a polling station in PK-80 Kohat. On July 25, election authorities had stopped polling at polling station 39.

Elections at the polling station have now been announced for August 2.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 1st, 2018.

Facebook Conversations

More in K-P