Voter turnout in 2018 dropped by more than 3%

Tharparkar recorded the highest voter turnout while it was lowest in the Tribal areas.

News Desk July 31, 2018
Voters in line on election day. Photo:AFP

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) released voter data for the July 25 election including voter turnout by percentage and party-wise vote banks. According to their numbers, overall voter turnout across the nation was 51.7 per cent. A drop from 2013 when turnout was the highest it’s ever been at 55.02 per cent.

The map below shows the districts with the highest and lowest voter turnout and those with the highest and lowest female voter turnout.

turnout election map ds

According to official ECP data, Tharparkar’s NA-221 and NA-222 constituencies reported both the highest percentage of total voter turnout and women voter turnout. Tharparkar has a significant Hindu population and PPP’s Mahesh Kumar Malani won from the NA-222 seat, making him the first elected Hindu in the National Assembly.

Lowest percentage of voter turnout and female voter turnout were both recorded in tribal areas.

Pakistan elections 2013 total voter turnout: 55%

The ECP has also released total votes received by parties in the national and provincial legislature.

National Assembly

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) received 16.8 million votes
Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) received 12.8 million votes
Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPP) received 6.9 million votes
Independent candidates received 6 million votes
Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) received 2.5 million votes.

Sindh Assembly

PPP received 3.8 million votes
Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) received 1.5 million votes
PTI received 1.4 million votes
Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM) received 0.7 million votes
Independent candidates received 0.7 million votes.

Punjab Assembly

PTI received 11 million votes
PML-N received 10.5 million votes
Independent candidates received 6.1 million votes
Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP) received 1.8 million votes
PPP received 1.7 million votes.

Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly

PTI received 2.1 million votes
MMA received 1.1 million votes
Independent candidates received  0.9 million votes
Awami National Party (ANP) received 0.7 million votes
PML-N received 0.6 million votes.

Balochistan Assembly

Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) received 0.4 million votes
Independent candidates received 0.3 million votes
MMA received 0.2 million votes
Balochistan National Party (BNP) received 0.1 million votes
PTI received 0.1 million votes.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read