71 candidates contesting for six NA seats

14 candidates were issued election symbols for NA-154

APP July 01, 2018

MULTAN: A total of 71 candidates are contesting for six National Assembly seats in Multan.

The election symbols were issued to the candidates on Saturday. According to sources, 14 candidates were issued election symbols for NA-154, while 13 were given symbols for NA-155. Similarly, 16 for NA-156, eight for NA-157, seven for NA-158 and 14 candidates were given election symbols for NA-159.

Former prime minister Yousuf Raza Ali Gillani and his two sons Syed Abdul Qadir Gillani and Syed Ali Musa Gillani are candidates for NA-158, NA-154 and NA-157, with tickets from Pakistan People’s Party (PPP). Their symbol is an arrow.

Similarly, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) Vice Chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi and his son are contesting the election from Na-156 and NA-157, with the symbols of a bat.

Former federal minister Sikander Hayat Bosan will contest the elections as an independent candidate. His election symbol is a pitcher.

Over 10,500 mobile phones recovered from Multan

Former federal minister Syed Javed Ali Shah is Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s (PML-N) candidate for NA-158. His election symbol is a tiger, and he will be contesting the elections against Gillani and Ibrahim Khan from PTI.

Janobi Punjab Mahaz Central Leader Rana Qasim Noon is contesting the elections with a ticket from PTI for NA-159. His election symbol is a bat.

Meanwhile, City Police Officer Munir Masood Marth said that peace will be ensured in the city during the general elections.

He expressed these views while meeting with the district peace committee on Saturday. It the police’s top priority to protect the lives the property of the people; zero negligence will be tolerated in this regard, he emphasised.

All the possible resources will be utilised to maintain law and order during the elections, he added. He also urged the members of the peace committee to play their part in ensuring peace.

Speaking on the occasion, peace committee member Qari Muhammad Hanif Jalandhri said that all religious scholars will be asked to highlight the importance of brotherhood during Friday sermons.

SSP Operations Tauseef Haider, SSP Investigations Ameer Taimoor, peace committee members Shafqat Hussain Bhutta, Zahid Bilal Qureshi, Muhammad Saleem Attari, Maulana Abdul Haq Mujahid, Muhammad Ayub Mughal, Syed Khalid Mehmood Nadeem, Allama Muhammad Farooq Khan, Dr Imran Qadri and others were also present.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 1st, 2018.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read