Millat Facebook review: thumbs down

Published: May 27, 2010
SHARES
Email
Screenshot of the MillatFacebook home page.

Screenshot of the MillatFacebook home page.

KARACHI: It would not be fair to say that MillatFacebook is a Facebook clone, not because it doesn’t aim to be, but rather because the quality of user experience is so abysmal that it does not merit the humble title, “Facebook clone”.

The basics

The website is new, so naturally it does not have a large member base despite the nationwide ban on Facebook. At the writing of this review, around 3,900 members have signed up so far. The website contains a little more than 1,100 photos, eight blogs and 23 polls.

Another point of interest is the terms to be a member of the website. Usually the terms section of any professional social networking site is so long that you simply scroll down and click the “I have read and agree” tab without actually going through the details. But MillatFacebook does not pose that problem. Here are the terms:

Only Terms of using this website are:

1) You must respect Humanity
2) You must respect Believes of all People
3) No Disrespect to anyone

“We are Listening you carefully”

The process of creating an account is very simple. Name, user name, email, password and gender. And you don’t have to worry about unavailability of usernames as there are only around 4,000 members yet.

Once you log in, you are welcomed by the hospitable phrase, “We are Listening you carefully.” What user would not be glad to know that? For the more paranoid of us, it is a subtle reminder that big brother is indeed watching you as you attempt to stalk your favourite MillatFacebook profile, while for those in a more positive frame of mind, it suggests an eager team of professionals hard at work on the site. Or are they?

Style guide anyone?

Perhaps this is a trivial observation but it seems a bit strange when different spellings of the same name appear in one paragraph e.g. some lines from the about us section of the site read:

“We love Peace and Happiness but not at cost of our BELOVED PROPHET MUHAMMAD (SALLALAH-O-ALIHI WASSALAM).”

“As all of us know that Facebook held a competition of caricatures of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).This event is basically a so-called contest for Prophet Mohammad’s drawings (Sallallahu Alayhi Wa-aal-hi-Wasallam).”

New features?

There are some features on MillatFacebook that make it different from its partial namesake.

There is the “featured members” tab, which unfortunately appears to do nothing when clicked.

There is also the “top rated members”, a feature that Facebook does not have, but which is remarkably similar to a website that people in Pakistan had abandoned years ago – Orkut.

This not the only thing the website shares with Orkut. There is also a feature that gives you the list of people who have viewed your profile recently.

Of course there are some other features which may not be as useful, but certainly are interesting.

For instance, MillatFacebook tells you how long you have been a member on the site, which is useful for easily sifting out the noobs from the hardened MillatFacebook users.

There is also an application called Photo Battle, where you can view random photos uploaded by other members and decide which ones you like.

To sum up, MillatFacebook is a bold effort only recently inaugurated by The Lahore High Court Bar Association (LHCBA), but it is unlikely to capture a large audience, judging by the online experience it offers currently.

And for all those who are labeling this potent “threat to Facebook” as a rip-off, the team at MillatFacebook has a ready reply:

“if we can make a copy of Facebook.com then we can also make a new social website as making any website is not a problem for us we have been doing this for the last 10 years as website developers but that would not be warning to Facebook.com.”

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (128)

  • S.A.R.A
    May 27, 2010 - 5:57PM

    The Halal facebook for Pakistan. Soon there will be gender segregation there! Recommend

  • May 27, 2010 - 5:59PM

    We don’t need another social network.Recommend

  • qamar
    May 27, 2010 - 6:01PM

    actually millat facebook is website (typical) not capable of large traffic from the users as accompanied by orignal facebook…as the no. of users increased tremendously it stucks….but i like the portion photo battle yummyRecommend

  • qamar
    May 27, 2010 - 6:17PM

    other than face book Pakistani youth needs their own platform which really connects them and mobilize them in critical times within them….after all Pakistani youth is in good no’s on net…site only for pakistanisRecommend

  • May 27, 2010 - 6:20PM

    They guys at millatfacebook.com have managed to put together a decent social experience in a few days. To compare it technically to an established giant is hypocritical.

    I am online since 1994, and as an early user of hotmail, facebook and twitter, I know the performance and other glitches that come with any new venture. Most of the bitterness seems to come from the “mommy-daddy” crowd, and anger directed at these uppity ‘urdu-medium-ers’.

    The guys at MFB are trying to make the best of a situation, and we should applaud them — but how can some people for whom Pakistan is just a temporary jail. Chinese, Russian, Japanese, and even Germans do not grasp English idiom and style, but that has never prevented them from copying and creating things.

    If there is IP infringement, it is up to FB to take legal action, but it will backfire as they would be acknowledging competition, and it is just as easy to come up under another domain name.

    The underlying issue is that an international content platform needs to abide by national laws. If FB does not allow holocaust-denial content in 14 countries as it is illegal, why does it not take the same action against content illegal in Pakistan.

    So, our dear English experts are advised to campaign for making the blasphemous content legal in Pakistan, or for FB to be a responsible corporate citizen, invest in an arbitration board, and apply its policies fairly, as it affects millions of people in various jurisdictions.

    Maybe, a humongous FB is not good for mankind, giving control to a 26-year-old Zuckerberg with dubious judgment. Maybe a federated model is better to go with — and that is where the world of social sites is heading.Recommend

  • Seema
    May 27, 2010 - 6:36PM

    1) It is a rip off. It is plagiarism. It is violation of copy rights . It is unprofessional. It says MillatfaceBook is a Facebook 4 all!

    2) They threw Pakistan into dark ages i sheer greed to run his own version and bag those billions of dollars that in his view were being earned by FaceBookfrom Pakistani users.

    3) The web host of this website is Net Earth One based in Nevada USA so the data of the brothers and sisters is being hosted at Nevada USA.

    4) The web host wont take more than 48 hours to take this site off when DMA is served to the hosting company by facebook.

    5) They had done a great insult to Islam, Pakistan and Muslims by creating this third rate , plagiarized and illegal site, using an insecure pirated and nulled script and cheap webhosting which can never stand the load of Millat everything else is ignored and the website doesn’t get shut down.

    6) I feel insulted as a Pakistani due to these cheap tactics adopted by these lawyers, Pakistan and Muslims have become a laughing stock in the global community due to this third rate pirated rip off.Recommend

  • Shiraz Hassan
    May 27, 2010 - 6:40PM

    Hi,
    i think we should out of all this facebookphobia. we should stop making these kind of clone sites. Recommend

  • May 27, 2010 - 6:42PM

    ‘Millat Tractor’ proudly presents “MillatFacebook” – 100% Halal, Poke FREE & Shariah Compliant

    @S.A.R.A hahaha..Recommend

  • Asim Kaleem
    May 27, 2010 - 6:44PM

    Indeed a bold step in creating this nice web-site. Applause to these guys who are working all time to make it better and comparable to the big, evil facebook ……….. We should give time and indeed they are improving ……….. keep it up millat fb …….. we need you ….. Recommend

  • Bangash
    May 27, 2010 - 8:19PM

    Pakistanis, and to be fair South Asians are only good for copying. Creativity has been dead in the subcontinent for ages. Even the name of this Millat website is a rip-off from Facebook.Recommend

  • Juko
    May 27, 2010 - 8:45PM

    what hypocrites!!!
    i hope someone sues them for plagiarism in the same LHC!Recommend

  • shafiq
    May 27, 2010 - 9:55PM

    Dear, it is very simple to criticise but hard to compete, don’t feel jealousy, give a big hand for applause and encourage MillatFacebook creator who outlined very simple and comprehensive terms for users in contrast to exposed hypocritic nature of so-called social network ”facebook” rules.Recommend

  • Ahmed Khan
    May 27, 2010 - 10:53PM

    This is worse than when Fanta was introduced in Nazi Germany because Coca-Cola was an American brand. The most embarrassing part is that the name has Facebook incorporated in it. How can you be so proud of yourself by terribly immitating one of the most successful ideas in the world? MillatFacebook is a terrible disgrace. Atleast that Salaam website had a better concept and great originality – this is utterly shameful.Recommend

  • Hummayun Javed
    May 27, 2010 - 11:40PM

    Say No! to alternatives, however original and useful they might be. I am for a complete ban of Internet and Electricity, because not only are these inventions of the infidels, without them Pakistanis would slowly but surely become aloof to all blasphemous content all over the world.Recommend

  • May 28, 2010 - 12:30AM

    What’s Next ? Ummat Facebook ?
    What the Duck ! I mean this is LAME !

    First you copy the website then you take features from 10 other social networking websites and merge them all together, that is coool :D

    LOL..I mean i just can’t stop laughing at that :D

    O bhai, grow up !

    Facebook is there cos of its worldwide presence and its link up with companies like Zynga and all..Do you guys know what is Zynga :P, How about signing the contract with them and you will have around 15 million active users a month..which your servers can’t handle :P

    I am seriously thinking how will this news look like..‘MillatFacebook shut down due to copyright issues as case filed by Facebook Inc’ :D

    IF you can’t provide better alternatives, don’t ask the nation to come and boycott with you !

    Damn it !Recommend

  • Asif P
    May 28, 2010 - 10:08AM

    I agree. The site should have been named HalalFacebook.com. That would have been a more apt title. What is so difficult about ignoring something that you don’t like? The internet is full of anti-Islamic sentiments. What next? Ban the internet in its entirety? I think Muslims (especially Pakistani Muslims) are isolating themselves from the international community and that cannot be good. Any religion that does not evolve is a religion in trouble. As for the website, plagiarizing another site is rather easy. Creating something original is the most difficult part.Recommend

  • Pakistani
    May 28, 2010 - 10:26AM

    I think we should appreciate the effort. It is very easy to criticize. However creating such a networking site is a new initiative by a Pakistani. Obviously it would take some time to add new features. If you go 2 years back no one in Pakistan new any thing about facebook. All were using orkut. So at least appreciate the effort and look at the technology and work being done.Recommend

  • Beenisch
    May 28, 2010 - 2:17PM

    Oh dear, they actually put ‘Facebook’ in their name. To make matters worse, they used the same design as well. I’m all for the Pakistani’s to progress and create their own brands in any field. But to create a brand to isolate from the entire world is foolish. It is also foolish, and embaressing for them to copy a brand and look of a site that they were against. What was the point of the ban? Recommend

  • AfghanPakistani
    May 28, 2010 - 7:37PM

    To all Muslims: the young pioneers of MillatFacebook need your support and constructive suggestions, rather than negative criticism while they are trying to stand up for the CAUSE we all know about.
    I only read about it this morning and I have signed up already. I will be deleting my Facebook account as soon as I logon there.
    Being an IT specialist myself, I know the challenges involved in the creation of this Islamic network, so all you quick-to-criticise, please be patient.
    As far as the name is concerned, it may be changed later on, but right now for the sake of marketing, MillatFacebook would do just fine.
    We must fight fire with fire.
    I AM PROUD OF THESE YOUNG LADS who stood-up for their faith and for the Ummah. I know they wiped my tears!Recommend

  • ssruk
    May 28, 2010 - 7:52PM

    I think rather than attacking MFB one should consider the intial REASON for creating such a social networking site. It is not hypocritical to mimick FB and offer an alternative to muslims and ‘Sweet people’ around the world, after all if FB respected the anger and emotions of all the muslims and some non muslims for that matter on banning the ‘Draw Muhammed day’ may be MFB would not have seen the light of day.

    I think its appauling how most of you are against it.. which can only mean one thing to me.. insulting our beloved prophet ( P.B.U.H) meant nothing to you !

    I think it is healthy competition for the normal FB its just like when you go shopping and if you do not face a good experience in a shop you will be minded not to go there again. similarly if muslims feel insulted on FB then at least they have an alternative choice.

    Like any other new venture MFB is bound to face teething problems…but with time hopefully they will overcome these problems. If you like MFB use it, support it and encourage it. However if you don’t.. then don’t use it its that simple! I just don’t think there is any need to be so negative and critical about the whole damn thing especially when its just aiming to offer an alternative to muslims where they do not feel insulted about their religion.

    I applaud at the team of MFB for creating a rival website.. FB should have listened at the pleas of the muslims in the first place. Its a fantastic idea to host a social networking site for muslims and non muslims and i think its a constructive step.

    Lastly there is no breach of copy right..plagerism , many social netwroking sites have similar features, the name is different and even if it is the same slightly that is purely to develop public awareness.. i go back to my first statement ; Consider the initial REASON for why MFB has been created in the first place.. Duuuhh ! Recommend

  • Pakistan
    May 28, 2010 - 8:48PM

    Dear all no one reinventing the wheel in this technology world. if someone reinventing that called foolish. millatfacebook is a good effort i appreciate it.

    i am working in huawei a Chinese company and they just copied every technology and now they are the telecoms giant all over the world.

    criticism is good but without a good knowledge its just a pin pointing with your own likes and dislikes. Everyone in Pakistan have a Europe and USA fobia please come out of it and do something by your own either copying a technology or improving a technology.

    Chinese are doing this and improving their situation but you all want to reinvent the wheel and not making any improvement.

    Think.Recommend

  • basma
    May 28, 2010 - 11:11PM

    i agree with sara u knwo we can definately have a gender segregation there n then we can have friend requests saying ‘muslim sisiter will u plz make friendship with me’
    oh ya im applauding for these guys at the amount of courage theve shown do u know copyng a logo can cost u around millions? but uve actually copied the whole site so im trying to calculate how much debt will they end up in coz of millatfacebook Recommend

  • Batool
    May 28, 2010 - 11:33PM

    I CANT BELIEVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i mean c’mon people.i trust pakistanis and i know they are so much more smarter than this!first you ban facebook and then you create another ‘facebook’ by adding another ‘islamic’ word before it?sure this’ll make it so much more ‘halal’ and ‘shariah friendly’ now that it has the word millat.seriously get real.the poor, innocent people of pakistan think that by banning facebook they’ve led them to a ‘HUGE’ loss.but in reality it is US, PAKISTANI MUSLIMS, who’ve advertised this event the most.we’ve done this before and we did it again.i mean after the world got to know that the pakistanis were protesting against this certain page, thousands of people, who didnt even know about the perverted event, visited the page and joined it.a big hand to pakstanis. awesome work guys you’ve caused a revolution.by insulting your own Prophet(P.B.U.H) as you highlighted the event more than it should’ve been.seriously rent your head to someone who’ll use it.have you thought about the ads that facebook must have gotten for that page as more and more people joined it?same thing happened when the sincere muslims of pakistan protested against the cartoons published in the stupid denmark newspaper.except for a bunch of readers of that sick newspaper, no body knew about them but when pakistanis protested,one copy of that newspaper bearing those cartoons was sold for $250 each!good work again.and you’ve done it again.other muslim countries were mad too but they didnt advertise those cartoons the way we did.iran broke of business ties with denmark quietly,instead of causing havoc on their own streets.now these facebook copies show how complexed and shallow we people are.i dont hear any other country doing it.please do something creative and if you dont like something on the internet, DONT LOOK AT IT!!!you arent bound to.you dont like using the net, you like being isolated from the world, then sure go cut your connection.but dont make a show of yourself.Recommend

  • Faryal Tahir
    May 29, 2010 - 2:10AM

    Haha !! This is funnier than it looks !! Reminds of me Millat Fans too,
    To keep people cool :D
    Any thing that can go wrong would definitely go wrong in this country.Recommend

  • Saleha Khan
    May 29, 2010 - 2:16AM

    Haha! I agree with you S.A.R.A…..Soon there will be a facebook for males, and then a facebook for females! Ahh!Recommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 4:59AM

    Does it have a “Make or create da frandship button”? If so, I see great potential! Recommend

  • musarat fatima
    May 29, 2010 - 9:59AM

    well done guys….Really owsum work…tell the whole world that we are genius and i know in each and every thing we dont need others.we by ourselves make a site.but from now it is the duty of each pakistani even each muslim from the whole world would visit this beautiful site and make it more sucessful then FACEBOOK.Recommend

  • Mubeen ur rehman khan (NED university of karachi)
    May 29, 2010 - 10:11AM

    I really appriciate that pakistani did a fantastic job now it is a time to make revolution in this world by not using FACEBOOKand by using millatfacebook.I really like this and all of you should make it more sucessful by visiting this cool pakistani’s siteRecommend

  • salman
    May 29, 2010 - 10:27AM

    hahahaha gooooo pakistan!! And dont you guys worry about zynga, we pakistanis are working on millatzynga to bring you millatholdempoker and millat farmville with only halal animals, who says we pakistanis arent creative. What ever applications they have we can make it. Also taliban will love this website, Pakistan zindiabad cut copy paste paindabad.Recommend

  • Uzmaa
    May 29, 2010 - 10:45AM

    hey i have not made an account on millat facebook because i am still so dissapointed by facebook .. what they did to harm muslims .. i deactivated my account and its been like 20 days i want to go back but then i feeel like why in the world i wana see a jew getting rich and making$2.75 everytime i log in ? !! i m still debating if i should make an account on millat facebook ..

    WHat you guys think should i ??Recommend

  • Anam
    May 29, 2010 - 11:27AM

    I also wanted to see what this ‘sweet’ facebook is about, but any word containing ‘facebook’ in the URL is blocked by my internet provider!
    But apparently, ‘millatfacebook’ appears to be a Chinese clone of facebook. Something more innovative would have been welcome!Recommend

  • TISid
    May 29, 2010 - 11:44AM

    I did become member, only to be so so disappointed. If the developers have been doing this for the past 10 years, then they should have done a really good job with aesthetics and the user experience. I will label it as “Extremely pathetic”. Though, the idea is very nice and some thing more should be done about it. But, my request, if you want to do it, do it in a professional and exceptional way, as the internet is forever.Recommend

  • Uzmaa
    May 29, 2010 - 12:21PM

    Even I was thinking about that .. my brother told me that the govt blocked facebook for few days only after .. a week he was able to sign in .. and i appreciate our Pakistani’s software engineer’s great effort mashAllah !! its never too late though !! i hope people quit the other facebook and joined MIllat facebook
    Im still debating if I should join this facebook or not because I am just so upset and scared to see All those hateful pages !!
    Recommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 12:36PM

    For all those who say that Millatfacebook is not appropriate are those people who “have NOT” read the article completely.
    I appreciate the Reply of the developers of millatfacebook.

    PEOPLE GO AHEAD AND READ THE LAST PART
    FIRST !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    shumayal,Recommend

  • Farhan
    May 29, 2010 - 12:37PM

    Both millatfacebook.com & pakfacebook.com are just using a 200$ prebuilt script from http://www.phpfox.com/

    Anyone can install and make a site using that, Nothing special or custom has been done by the teams. Just looking for cheap success i guess!Recommend

  • Juko
    May 29, 2010 - 12:40PM

    Well all ye defenders of MFB lets not fight anymore…Lets all report this for plagiarism and see what happens?
    oh and by the way MFB sounds like a swear word!!!Recommend

  • Juko
    May 29, 2010 - 12:50PM

    @mussarat fatma
    copying is not genius!!!
    and i would not have any court in the world or you tell me what my duty is. neither do i need anyone to guage what kind of a muslim i am…thats between me and my God!Recommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 1:20PM

    Farhan! said the right it is premade script working on MillatFacebook!Recommend

  • Rafique
    May 29, 2010 - 2:07PM

    For all those who are clamouring this is plagiarism and copying, does ANY of you know how our favorite operating system Windows started? Do you know that when Windows Vista came out, it had all the features Apple had already introduced? Was integrating “tabbed browsing” or “InPrivate Browsing” into Internet Explorer a genuine Microsoft idea? AND, btw, how many of you “real” & “genuine” people who have so criticized MillatFacebook, use a genuine copy of the operating system or other softwares that you have installed? What would happened if you were in the U.S and arrested or fined for an illegal copy of the Windows OS? Yes, being emotional we Pakistanis do exaggerate, so we did, I agree that we have probably made it more profitable for the original FB guys. Friends, so much has already been done and written on the web in particular and in the world in general that no idea is exclusively genuine or new, so STOP, please! You could take it as our youth’s “freedom of expression”, regardless of how fair or not it is, ’cause if Molly Norris could just “be sorry” over actually presenting the idea of caricatures and think it was enough, then what’s so big if our boys have copied. At least they’ve spoken their mind. I see it that way. This is what we Muslims did back in 1857, we resisted English because we thought it was the language of the heathens, look where we are. Keep telling our youngsters not to copy and we’ll and THAT will surely take us back to Stone Age, not banning Facebook, I believe.Recommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 4:07PM

    hurm…
    i think we don’t need another facebook.too much entertainment is dangerous guys.Recommend

  • Juko
    May 29, 2010 - 6:02PM

    i am not SWEET hence i wont be part of “MFB” (what a joke)
    and i thought it was social networking not religious networking!Recommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 8:50PM

    Juko: Do you really think LHC will accept that application IF filed ? :), esp when the website is backed by a famous lawyer himself.

    Ahmed: Exactly, they were so obsessed with facebook that they ended up registering domains like pakfacebook and MillatFacebook :D, kinda Funny :D

    Asif P: Very well said :)

    Beenisch: The point of the ban was, introduction of MillatFacebook :D, There wouldn’t be any better moment than this :)

    ssruk: “similarly if muslims feel insulted on FB then at least they have an alternative choice.”
    Please correct and replace that muslims IN Pakistan, cos nowhere in the world Facebook was ‘boycotted’.

    Basma: Wait and watch :)

    Batool: Have you seen the post where the author of the page has ‘mentioned’ the role of Pakistan in such golden words :)

    IF you can access Facebook then Click and see.

    Salman: LMAO..millatfarmville..what abt MillatMafiaWars :P..:D

    Uzmaa: I wonder who told you the fact that ‘THEY’ get $2.75 every time you log in..Let me correct..The only way Facebook is earning is by Ad Clicks, They don’t even charge for hosting your applications !

    Farhan: hahaha..i was waiting when someone would disclose that :) I was not sure about the source but i sure was sure that it was a ready made product :P

    Rafique: Windows change the name at least :P, IF they wanted to do so much, they should had not kept Facebook in the name IF they are on the agenda of blocking everything named Facebook :PRecommend

  • May 29, 2010 - 9:40PM

    Millatfacebook guys didn’t u once think that you can come up with some innovative name and theme, believe me it’s not difficult. i can suggest you some.Recommend

  • SAZR
    May 29, 2010 - 10:28PM

    i wonder when the facebook ban is lifted…the creators of this pathetic ripoff would themselves return to the original place.Recommend

  • Juko
    May 29, 2010 - 10:40PM

    @ Hunain Ali: RESPECT!Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 1:55AM

    Juko: With all due respect, I had no intentions offend you. I just wanted to acknowledge that what you said was right and even IF someone sues them in LHC, I believe LHC would decline the request. That was all !

    IF something offended you or anyone else, I apologize for that.Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 6:44AM

    Tell them, socialising is haram !Recommend

  • Juko
    May 30, 2010 - 9:20AM

    @Hunain: No, i meant i agree with you :)Recommend

  • Sharif
    May 30, 2010 - 9:37AM

    I want to a connect millatfacebook

    SharifRecommend

  • Zanna Jay
    May 30, 2010 - 9:43AM

    i just wondering about Millat Facebook..is it something like copyright from this current Facebook which was created by Mark Zuckerberg?? If yes, they shouldn’t do that..they should have their own trademark..Recommend

  • Uzmaa
    May 30, 2010 - 10:47AM

    Hmmm .. well it was on US news network Buddy ! anyways i didnt know that and i dont rely on the US media .. they are biased !Thnx for da info though !!
    someone sent me an email with some FACEBOOK ATTACK Dos Files in it ..
    it says if u copy paste dose links to Notepad and save it as “fbattack” or sumthing it will send Ping request to facebook which will slow down facebook and eventually it will shut down as well .
    is it true or is it possible ??Recommend

  • ary
    May 30, 2010 - 12:35PM

    Wow, thank you for the info. I’ll definitely join MFB and I’ll permanently close my facebook.com account. It’s a free promotion from Tribune.Com for Millatfacebook.Com despite all of the weaknesses (well, MFB is still a newly baby born). I think MFB will improved in many years to come. I love my prophet more than my life and disrespecting other religions (that includes other religion’s holly prophet) are agains my believes. Many thanks to MFB creators for the alternative and thank you for Tribune.Com for the free promotion. Recommend

  • mak
    May 30, 2010 - 1:45PM

    I commend the efforts of these developers to come up with this however disappointed that they pretty much copied facebook entirely..I am sure all of us would have been very proud if someone came up with a genuine idea – a true innovation! hoping that someone will introduce a fresh concept.Recommend

  • hani mustafa
    May 30, 2010 - 2:13PM

    hi,

    we should appreciate the good work by pakistanis, i have an idea to float if they can make a pakistan own social network by the name “pakface.com”- spreading the message of peace.Recommend

  • Aminah
    May 30, 2010 - 2:29PM

    The idea of own networking site is good but, may be, they shouldn’t add facebook at the end, since they detest facebook, why use the name even? and they could’ve come up with a better or newer idea… keeping some ingredients essential for networking site, at least don’t copy the layout.Recommend

  • Juko
    May 30, 2010 - 2:39PM

    @rani
    Yes we are pakistani….not arabic!!!Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 2:47PM

    Juko: Well i was kinda deceived by the CAPS and then the ! in the end..wasn’t sure what it was about..and they say don’t think too good about urself so for a moment i thought you didn’t get what i said :)

    Anyhow, Thanks for the respect :), I am not getting much now a days :D!

    Uzmaa: Well trust me IF that Ping attack was of any work..then MillatFacebook will be down in few days :P, cos when the word will spread out that a replica of Facebook is created and for ‘Sweet peoples’ only, do u really think those who are not sweet will like it ? :D. a Big NO !

    Damn..Give me a break !

    Mak: Didn’t u read, it is a ready-made script mate :)

    Hani: lol, you guys just can’t seem to get away from the word Facebook :P, every other replica that comes up has Facebook in the end and now ur suggestion says put Face in the end..LMAO :DRecommend

  • Siddique
    May 30, 2010 - 3:05PM

    Who said Pakistanis cannot even copy properly? You can do the following to bring more ummah into it:

    (a) Add link to Taliban Tourism Develpment Board and Terrorism Export Promotion Council (that will be a huge hit).
    (b) Put links to videos of flogging, amputation, etc.,
    (c) Provide links to passport forgery, visa fraud, illegal marriages.
    (d) How to move to the West illegally?
    (e) An idiots’ guide to suicide bombing.Recommend

  • Asim Kaleem
    May 30, 2010 - 5:05PM

    You are wrong its now growing and going very fast. Please try to appreciate those who are still doing something good in this country. Still its better than twitter and bla bla ……. All praise to these young guys of millat ……. you will get more n more people with time ….. keep working and don’t listen to such stupid columns and articles ……Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 5:31PM

    superp attempt has been made by pakistanis this is the great step forward by muslims and a hard slap on the face of non-muslims and also a great leson for them if they have little respect then must admit their mistakeRecommend

  • naila
    May 30, 2010 - 6:05PM

    well,,its a nice step,,,but we are doing nothing productive there,the aim should be do something productive,i thing people have got one more place to waste their valueble time,nothing else they are just keep on adding friends and leaving comments on the posts there should be something to learn, something to achieve, otherwise there is no use of it. Recommend

  • Anaum
    May 30, 2010 - 7:07PM

    I am very proud of those Muslims who have alteast taken some stand against it. Other people just know how to critisize!! I mean people, atleast appreciate the effort instead of using vulgar language against a mere name of the site!!!
    I will join MFB as soon as possible..
    And atleast I commend the efforts!! :)Recommend

  • altruist
    May 30, 2010 - 7:11PM

    good to hear that pakistani made facebook is available now….:)Recommend

  • Bilal Abbas
    May 30, 2010 - 8:39PM

    Joining MFB will not make you guys a better Muslim or love the Prophet (pbuh) more. It will just show the world that Muslims cannot live in a world where there is more than just Islam. Why can’t we all stick to Facebook and defeat the Non-Muslims at their own turf? If the 2 million plus Pakistani users of FB make a group calling for the removal of the page then that’ll be the best reply/revenge. Banning FB and joining MFB is not the answer. Do we want to spend the rest of our lives in battle mode with the West? Not me. Recommend

  • Bilal Abbas
    May 30, 2010 - 8:50PM

    Why is it that Pakistanis consider themselves the champions of Islam? We do everything that the right interpretation of our religion would condemn. Please, stop trying to hail MFB as the saviours of our religion. The world wanted us to react to the caricatures and we did. So much for our increased intelligence over the infidels. Recommend

  • Ahmed
    May 30, 2010 - 8:58PM

    I just check Millatfacebook.. its not opening.. Also i try to use it via undoblock.com it redirect me to feboz.com website. did they change the name and redirecting all users to Feboz.com ? bcox its same social network. and i like the new look of millatfacebook on feboz .Recommend

  • tieka6254
    May 30, 2010 - 11:01PM

    i think the point here is not mfb copying fb… but how us muslim can defend our religion. we as one ummah must have a strong bond so we can shows to non muslims what is ISLAM are…ISLAM is a very very beautiful religion, follows al-quran and sunnah, that are our guide..Recommend

  • farooq
    May 30, 2010 - 11:04PM

    Salam,

    there some upgradation process going on. kindly have a patience as this a new website and it will require some time to stable.Recommend

  • Mohamed
    May 30, 2010 - 11:12PM

    MillatFaceBook is nice and its just their start. The site was not opening because they said, there was DDOS attack on server. And they are upgrading the server for better speed and until than the sites’ many features disabled temporarily. The site has more than 85,000 members now and expected it will hit 100,000 members today. Thumbs up MFB.Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 11:22PM

    Bilal Abbas: I second you !Recommend

  • May 30, 2010 - 11:37PM

    I’m in for this!! thumbs up
    featured friends are for those friends you are close with, like top friends.
    I’m feeling that millat facebook is like a combination of facebook and friendster, and this is cool!Recommend

  • Mrs. Rafique
    May 31, 2010 - 12:21AM

    Why not choose a nice name. FAB BOOK if looking for similar one. But its better to decide a nice name.Recommend

  • Beenish
    May 31, 2010 - 12:42AM

    this is nice to see the new millat facebook
    and i joint this as well..so happy about to get our own site
    now no one will able to create a mess and attack our ideology and identity :)
    Great work !!Recommend

  • Fawwad
    May 31, 2010 - 1:54AM

    Stupid Idea. Ironic that these people support the ban on Facebook but kept the name “millatFACEBOOK.” Block the said page but open the real facebook website. We are such an intolerant society! People think that facebook is supporting the said page, it is not! one cant ban or block everything. the Internet is full of things which go against religions. Should we ban the entire Internet? Stupid idea! Atleast get an original name; this is trademark infringement, which is stealing, which is not allowed in Islam or any other religion. its like naming a soft drink MillatPepsi or MillatCoke.Recommend

  • Taseer
    May 31, 2010 - 1:58AM

    I love it!!!!!!! thumbs up……

    This is great as we can use one of our own website and I have signed up and am loving it and so are my friends and family…..Recommend

  • Sara
    May 31, 2010 - 1:59AM

    I agree with Bilal Abbas. Lift the ban on the real facebook. and let the people decide. if someone feels so hurt they can leave voluntarily, but i am sure the very same people talking against facebook will remain on it. Forced bans are wrong. there is no compulsion in religion. This millatFACEBOOK wouldnt do well. how can one expect people to move to website which has a name that has been ripped off another website.Recommend

  • joseph stalin
    May 31, 2010 - 2:09AM

    When is the muslim world going to invent an internet of their own ! Lol,i cant really wait for that day.Recommend

  • naila
    May 31, 2010 - 3:19AM

    I 100% agree with Bilal abbas,by doing this we cant make ourself a better muslim the thing is to improve urself,to make u a btter HUMAN BEING by learning the teaching of Islam and Rasool(p.b.u.h),not just sitting around for hours and doing foul things.WE SHOULD THINK ABOUT IT!!!Recommend

  • May 31, 2010 - 8:02AM

    anybody ever heard of the term “Plagiarism”? i wonder if plagiarism is condoned by Muslim Website builders or is there some fatwa against cheating in place already???Recommend

  • May 31, 2010 - 8:11AM

    from the sublime to the ridiculous………..utterly predictable and downright embarrassing.Recommend

  • tahir nadeem
    May 31, 2010 - 9:22AM

    To fill column inches perhaps this is how desperate a nascent daily can get. Why else would it allow for this nonsense to filter through its editorial sieve! I have edited five publications in my lifetime and have had the misfortune to go word by word through a lot of nonsense put on my desk under ‘reviews’. But let me tell you that this piece really takes the cake. More than the hack who conjured this masterpiece however, I hold responsible the Editor who failed to see the shallowness of its content. MillatFacebook is NOT your everyday social networking site launched after months of deliberation to compete with a billion dollar networking portal…it was a knee-jerk reaction by a handful of Pakistanis to what they saw was the unrelenting audacity of Facebook. It could not and by definition should not have been reviewed for its style and grammar and other fine points. It’s like reviewing a wartime shelter and criticizing it for not having carpeted floors and crystal chandelier. The site is more of a phenomenon and the review should have concentrated on the endeavor in its cultural and geopolitical contexts. It is in those contexts that the phenomenon can truly be judged and wherein it has gained enough popularity to have the hack of this review eat his words. Facebook when launched garnered the registration of about half the undergraduate population at Harvard within the first month … which would mean around 3000 roughly. MillatFacebook has managed to attract more than 90,000 users in that time period. That in itself is enough accomplishment to win Omer Zaheer, Arslan Chaudhry and their four IT colleagues a standing ovation. So, dear Editor, get your hacks to work harder on their pieces because some of us out here are actually reading in between the lines.Recommend

  • Hamza Baloch
    May 31, 2010 - 1:10PM

    facebook started since 2004.. and its MFB born few weaks ago……. its early to compare both sites:)
    Now 92,058 Members.. its not a small number!Recommend

  • Noumaan R. Siddiq
    May 31, 2010 - 2:40PM

    a totally……rubbish editorial…..

    thumbs up to taher nadeem for a befitting reply…

    kudos to the MFB (Millat FaceBook) team for their efforts…

    salaam,

    Abu TalhaRecommend

  • sadaf
    May 31, 2010 - 2:56PM

    Millat Face Book is great effort by pakistani in a vert SHORT Time
    1st of all they make this side on urgent basis for people who became addicted to facebook this is True when u become addicted u forgot all things the gap between right & wrong removed.
    Just Imagine if some one make fun of your Ammi Abbu Sister or even your son or daughter relate Ammi Abbu Sister with Animals what is your Reaction?
    Your appricaite them yes My Ammi is look like Donkey Monkey my son is just like same as u draw look like a dog good drawing i will join u in dinner?

    NO offcourse 100% No u will break all relation with that person
    Our Nabi(PBUH) Says Mufhoom hay “Tum main say kowee us waqt tuk muslim nahi hosukta jub tuk main usko uskay Maa Baap Mal aur Aulad say zada aziz na hojaoon”
    Tu Ki nabi(pbuh) ki muhabbat itni hay k app Face book chor nahi sukty apni family ki khatir tu sub chor daity hain
    Millat face book is good if u really want Facebook and it will upgrade with time WELDONERecommend

  • momina
    May 31, 2010 - 3:04PM

    2 BILAL ABBAS and all his supporters ,what do u think Pakistanis and muslims were doing before fabcebook was banned in Pakistan almost 40% members of the page EVERY BODY DRAW MUHAMMAD DAY ( NAOEZ BILLAH) were muslims n they were participating there in various debates trying 2 convince nonmuslims . the page made by muslims captured 10,000 more members than the rival page not to forget that our rival page was reported by millions of muslims all around the globe but still facebook took no action at all and still facebook authorities are stubborn and are not even apologizing
    so saying that use facebook n spread ur message is a useless and worn out thing as it has been done without getting any results.Recommend

  • Rameeza
    May 31, 2010 - 3:16PM

    I recommend your read the 2 or 3 recent blogs to answer all your queries.
    http://omerzaheermeer.wordpress.com/Recommend

  • momina
    May 31, 2010 - 3:22PM

    wake up people all what matters for facebook admins is signins ,the more signins the more they earn n this is it 4 them .they donot care either ur using fb 4 islamic interast or 4 fun .atleast by banning it we have given this msg 2 the world that we cant tolerate any bad work against NABI SAWW.
    as far as millatfacebook is concerned it is just in initial stages and it will take time 2 establish but still it is our own ,our every minute spent there is giving profit 2 our country n that is what should be important 4 us .by leaving fb we can show the world that we can survive with what we have n are not dependant on them.Recommend

  • May 31, 2010 - 9:39PM

    Well, much has been said about Millat Facebook. We have to respect everybody’s point of view whether we agree to that or not.

    Let us see how the team works to transform it into an alternative of facebook with the passage of time.

    The team has to pay heed to every single piece of advice and derive a unanimous conclusion about how to improve the site.

    They must also pay attention to spelling mistakes.

    Allah bless them and us all.Recommend

  • Hamza Baloch
    Jun 1, 2010 - 9:55AM

    Millat facebook members are “1,11,297”
    Still “thumbs down”??Recommend

  • Jazib Khan Ghory
    Jun 1, 2010 - 12:16PM

    @Hamza Baloch

    Britney Spears has sold more records than Black Sabbath, but does that make her a better musician? Get my point?Recommend

  • Nawaz
    Jun 1, 2010 - 12:18PM

    A meesage to Express Tribune or the Author of this article:

    I cannot understand the mentality that went behind writing this article. Millatfacebook is just a brand new website designed in no time by people who have some Imaan in their hearts left.

    You article gives it a thumbs down as if you are really hurt by this development. This is ripe time to ask: Whose side you are on?

    Stop being an agent for the west. You speak their language.Recommend

  • tahir nadeem
    Jun 1, 2010 - 2:10PM

    Some of the comments accusing the MillatFacebook team of “copyright infringement” (Fawaad), “ripping off of the website’s name” (Sara) and “plagiarism” (omar Ali Khan) make for an interesting read. Lets expand that read a bit to get a better perspective of the real hommage.
    From its name, right down to the concept of social networking it features, Facebook is an idea Mark E. Zuckerberg, founder of Facebook.com has been repeatedly accused of “plagiarizing”, and “ripping off” by many. Here is how they say he did it;

    From 2000 to 2002, Zuckerberg, attended the prestigious Phillips Exeter Academy, a co-educational residential school located in Exeter, New Hampshire, USA and serving students in grades 9 through 12. Accommodation for students at Exeter is provided on campus where they live in dormitories or “Houses” bearing their own individual names.

    Zuckerberg took up the mandatory residence at the Exeter campus, where students like at every other boarding school had their social lives depend totally on the campus community they formed part of. Forging new alliances and maintaining old friendships on campus thus meant staying in touch with friends who may or may not have been living in the same “House” permanently since living quarters for students changed every year.

    Because students weren’t allowed cell phones on campus, House phone numbers become the only way to stay in touch with each other. As compensation, the academy printed and published these numbers along with photos of students every year as a student directory given to every student joining Exeter.

    Called officially “The Photo Address Book,” the directory was referred to as “The Facebook” by the students. Surprised? Hold your horses before screaming “plagiarism” because there is more.

    Zuckerberg, who too got his copy of the Facebook when he enrolled at Exeter, saw how well the students made use of the directory to keep track of their friends, classmates, housemates and schoolmates, who they were living with, and hanging out with, gauging the strength of various social networks and thus handpicking their own. “The Facebook” was more then just a directory then, an instrument that underscored the campus culture and bonding between members of a community.

    In 2002, the year Zuckerberg graduated from Exeter, the student council at the academy convinced the administration to have the school’s IT department put the full contents of Exeter’s Photo Address Book online. The Website developed was http://student.exeter.edu/facebook
    In 2003, while attending Harvard as a sophomore, Zuckerberg hacked into Harvard’s computer network to steal ID images of residents of nine Houses, which he placed on the website http://www.Facemash.com, he created as his version of the Hot or Not. The site was shut down by the Harvard administration a few days later by charging Zukerberg with breach of security, violating copyrights, and violating individual privacy. Zukerberg faced expulsion but ultimately the charges were dropped.
    On February 4, 2004, Zuckerberg finally launched thefacebook.com as Harvard’s social networking site. Six days after the site was launched, three Harvard seniors complained to Harvard Crimson, the daily student newspaper of Harvard University, accusing Zukerberg of misleading them to believe he would help them build a social network called HarvardConnection.com, while he was instead using their ideas to build a competing product. While the campus newspaper began an investigation Zuckerberg used TheFacebook.com to access the Crimson members’ Harvard email accounts. The three filed a lawsuit against Zuckerberg in the Federal District Court in Boston, but chose to settle later.

    That leaves us with Aaron J. Greenspan, another classmate of Zukerberg at Harvard who claims to have originally developed the college social networking system, in 2003, a good six months before Zukerberg launched Facebook. Greenspan’s “houseSYSTEM” was a simple Web service used by several thousand Harvard students for various academic activities online. Zuckerberg too used the service.

    Greenspan introduced a new feature to his houseSYSTEM and announced it to Harvard students on Sept. 19, 2003, as the “the Face Book,” describing it as an online system for locating students in other Houses effectively. The date was four months before Mr. Zuckerberg started his thefacebook.com.

    Later, when Greenspan e-mailed Zukerberg suggesting that the two integrate their systems, Zuckerberg responded, “I actually did think about integrating it into houseSYSTEM before you even suggested it, but I decided that it’s probably best to keep them separated at least for now.” A month later he launched thefacebook.com, dropping ‘the’ from the website’s URL later.

    Carl Sagan, the American astronomer once said, “If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe.” In the universe of ‘Facebooks” therefore just scratch beneath the surface to see who has their hands dipped in whose pie before pointing fingers at any plagiarizer.Recommend

  • Srinivas
    Jun 1, 2010 - 3:20PM

    Do we need this “MillatFacebook”? Is there a need for it. We had a similar incident with Youtube, the result is a bunch of Islamic Youtubes. How does this help the Islamic community? How does insulating ourselves from the world help us?

    This is akin to Ostrich mentality. Just because we shut our eyes does not mean the event is not happening. Let us join Facebook in droves and convince others about our sensitivities.Recommend

  • Qasim
    Jun 1, 2010 - 3:23PM

    I have read the comment thoroughly but i few points to mention:

    1. First of all i would like to say that these so called “social networking websites” are no more than just wastage of time. I mean of what good is to know how “Peter” is doing in America if we don’t know how our nextdoor neighbour is doing???. These websites are not giving us friends because of what good is a friend if he is not with you when needed, these websites are just wasting our time and making us alone.

    2. The otherthing which i would like to say, has already been mentioned that is, copyrights… We are already using pirated softwares pirated books, music movies and many other things…. but in this case atleast the name is different.

    3. Thirdly the ban was due to some reason……… We should keep that in mind……

    4. I am so much stunned to read some comments, specially of most of the girls. I mean we should not be fighting on weather this try is righ or wrong we should understand THE REASON of ban…. we should never make jokes with our own ummat or Millat.
    Now i know why we are being rulled by such people…….. Like nation Like Leaders……Recommend

  • akbar khan
    Jun 1, 2010 - 9:46PM

    Its better for us. that we have our own nameRecommend

  • Jun 1, 2010 - 10:40PM

    You think you should use MillatFacebook..Go join it and Leave Facebook, Don’t even turn back !

    Delete your accounts, IF you don’t know..Google it. You will get the procedure.

    Got my point :D

    Jazib: Now I am beginning to believe that either Hamza is the brand ambassador or MFB or he has stakes in it for sure :P, so keep your energy safe..the best solution is those who want to use MFB go use it and don’t ever come back to Facebook :)

    What say ?Recommend

  • wasiii
    Jun 2, 2010 - 3:01AM

    hi all,,, em shocked by reading all these comments…dont wanna mention anybuddy’s name but this is such a shame on your part,,, to crticize is quite easy to do but to come up with something creative is a far cry for ppl like these shameless critiques,,, well, everybuddy has da rite to comment but plzzz you guys gotta keep in mind wat has caused all this,,, is this bloody social networking that important, to make you keep the issues of great importance aside,,, no u cant be this much selfish,,, dont criticize just come up with a solution,,, mr copy n paste,u urself did the same i suppose,,, if not do soefing better than this,, its just the start n we hope that they will get better,,, n dears, the site developers, dont take the criticism negatively, make use of it n remove the weaknesses you have in your design,,, praying for the ppl of this country to become “A NATION”… Recommend

  • pervaize
    Jun 2, 2010 - 8:25AM

    I have dumped four accounts on Facebook and said my goodbye.
    I love my Prophet more then facebook, I have joined millat facebook this is where I will stayRecommend

  • Mohammad
    Jun 2, 2010 - 9:44PM

    Muslims please wake up!!!
    The pr0blem is not that whether Paki Muslim 0r American Muslim created that site Millat facebook..bt its revenge as fb has insulted our beloved Prophet Muhammad when it was time to speak everybody was silent n now every body is criticizing……..
    If one insults Prophet Muhammad pbuh the order if (u ppl dnt knw) is to “kill that culprit “,v cn atleast stop using face book as it is the strongest action possible right now..
    As far as plagiarism is concerned ,let me tell you mfb is not a copy and even has more features like video,group chatting (which are not mentioned in the above article may be the reporter is unaware about this fact.)
    One more thing missing in the article above is that fb did not have as many members(when it was launched)as compared to mfb.
    Moreover, mfb is a platform where people can interact with each other &express their “freedom of speech” but not by blasphemy or by hurting others religion sentiments.
    And next time whoever the reporter is must have sufficent information .By the way pbuh n sal-lal-laho-aly-wale-e-waslam have same meaning the only difference is that one is in arabic language n the other is in english.Recommend

  • Jun 2, 2010 - 10:24PM

    how foolish is our media, wasting time in such reviews.Recommend

  • Sana N
    Jun 3, 2010 - 12:16AM

    The real question is not whether its a complete copy (name-wise and design-wise)
    The real question is:
    Will I need my husbands permission to become a member?
    Is poking haram?
    Can I add a non mahrum as a friend or will I have to marry him first?
    Give me a break,
    Facebook for a lot of people was for connecting to people who are abroad, if this thing only works in Pakistan or only for Muslims then forget about it!Recommend

  • Shayan
    Jun 3, 2010 - 12:32AM

    this is one of the funniest articles i have read in quite sometime! Cudnt stop laughin! ;DRecommend

  • Jun 3, 2010 - 9:44AM

    Millat facebook, pak facebook, pakbook, facepak, bookbook!!!

    Enough of this please! where do they keep their brains?? in a refrigerated jar somewhere?Recommend

  • Imtiaz
    Jun 4, 2010 - 10:22PM

    Well beside the discussion going on millatfacebook.com is proved to be a good site with capacity of handling more then 2 hundred million users. its till now it got 180,000 users, so its will be done the same way people like when money comes, n the problem with copy, well the have chaned there theme to green n soon the out look will be changed, it ranks at 2058 in traffic rank from millions of site (for 7 days review)
    Source: http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/millatfacebook.com# Recommend

  • lanja ibrahim
    Jun 5, 2010 - 3:25PM

    you will see how the millat facebook will rival the original one….. we were all used to use the old facebook but surely we leave everything for the sake of defending our Prophet…..we cant enter a website that stand against the free belief of others………we never accept to insult our Beloved PROPHET MUHAMMAD…..bravo to those birriliant pakistanies …….Recommend

  • faris aiman zainuddin zidane
    Jun 5, 2010 - 4:06PM

    millat fAcebook is more better than facebookRecommend

  • Village Kitty
    Jun 6, 2010 - 6:07AM

    The campaign I got was because FB donates for the war in Israel. I’m a muslim but… basically have a VERY different perspective with MFB’s fella.

    I’m satiric and cynical people, though I never insulted someone directly in FB, I’m very critical. I made a satyr of “extremists” (not Muhammad, because I believe he’s better than them), and some people have really taken the satyr very very as expected. you know, foul words and rage.

    And if some people ask me to move to MFB, so I will turn it down, because I’m not mentally masochist. And it’s QUITE ironic to use the word Facebook if they wanna become original. They are inspired by the social network which they claim “diss their faith” by using the very same name.

    Why don’t use a better different name? Oh I forgot, people remember Facebook more and become so attached to it that if given different name, people won’t even recognize it.

    Yeah, it’s ironic actually.

    And actually, remember Muhammad was once even thrown by a pile of crap and he did what? Nothing but prayed for the goodness of whoever throwing him that. So, why were some people become so raged just because some ignorant people drawing them? Your act actually what they hoped! Congratulation, you fell on their trap, successfully.
    facepalmsRecommend

  • Jun 6, 2010 - 8:47PM

    Assalamualeikum,

    I know there are some mad peoples in our communities who are involve in inferiority complex and admire west and usa for them please visit http://www.1001inventions.com inventions by muslim and all west work is just english copy more then clooning.. Another point to be noted very carefully that’s chiristians and jews use muslim name to write comment and create conflit ammong muslim and very well known tacticts of christian missioneries just enter in google christian’s missoneries conversion tactitcs.Be honest nothing to worry simply keep faith in Allah and support millat face book great work.
    wassalam
    your brotherRecommend

  • diki muhamad sidik
    Jun 7, 2010 - 7:38PM

    i want to connect millatfacebookRecommend

  • Aly
    Jun 8, 2010 - 1:27PM

    **Millatfacebook cannot compete with Facebook. Facebook has a net worth of 4 billion USD, and I bet that Millatfacebook is going to eat dust, because the ban on Facebook is now lifted! BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME!!**Recommend

  • farwa
    Jun 8, 2010 - 9:34PM

    i want make id on millat facebook how too make any one tell meRecommend

  • Jun 11, 2010 - 6:39PM

    This is a new beginning. I am confident that, Pakistan have expertise in the development of systems and web sites. foreign party does not need to fear the power of the Muslims, because Islam is a religion that emphasizes brotherhood and peace. unlike the other religions. Take a look at Islam, and you will know the power of a religion is.Recommend

  • Jun 14, 2010 - 10:59AM

    i like millat facebook because it is islamic so it can be easier to muslim and muslimah to chat with the others.Beside that,we also can now about condition of muslim and muslimah from all country and in the world…Recommend

  • Michal Heart
    Jun 15, 2010 - 3:22PM

    Birth and Launch of Millat Facebook:
    Millat FB was launched by a team of Pakistani Muslims by working round the clock within just 2-3 days and Launched it Globally
    Vs
    Mark Zukerberg’s Zionist FB which took YEARS to develop and ran as a prototype for years. Than was registered in 1997 and it wasn’t until a YEAR LATER in 1998 that they could formally launch it.
    Response and Growth:
    Within 15 Days MFB had over 318,000 members forming its community
    VS
    FB who in the ENTIRE FIRST MONTH could manage ONLY 3,000
    World Ranking:
    The most reputable internet stats provider Alexa Ranked MFB 18,860th site out of over 6 BILLION WEBSITES within JUST One and a Half week.
    http://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/millatfacebook.com
    VS
    The Zionist owned FB which took 6 years to gain popularityRecommend

  • Michal Heart
    Jun 15, 2010 - 3:23PM

    Impact on FB:
    Mark’s FB was growing at 10.24% 3 months ago
    After their Backing and support of the Caricatures and the launch of MILLAT FACEBOOK, this dropped to 2.32% a month ago
    With Millat’s rising popularity, FB’s growth further slumped to 0.5% in the last 7 Days.
    The result is a decline from a 10.24% growth to the level of 0.5% ONLY. This is over 95% fall in their Growth and a SERIOUS KICK.
    The 10% approximate lost would account to 40 MILLION of the claimed 400 Million FB users, a HIT serious enough to get FB reeling.
    FB’s attempts to stop MiLLat FB:
     Constant DDOS Attacks on Millat including from Israeli and CIA owned IP’s (YES ……… We have them logged and the proofs)
     Subversion Attacks on Millat
     Personal Threats to the Millat Administration
     Partnership with Yahoo resulting in YAHOO refusing to deliver any emails containing MILLATFACEBOOK.COM (YAHOO and FB recently entered in a business deal and this explains YAHOO’s actions to help FB)
     Yahoo Mail is BLOCKING MFB emails ………………….. Yahoo is blocking our emails stating that “your website contain offensive content” They think uniting Muslims is offensive, this is their double standards. Pray that we succeed against these evil enemies and unite our Ummah as One Millat and show them “Yes We Can”
     This is very strange that Mark’s Facebook which allow and supports RIDICULE of Holy Prophet (SAWW) is not objectionable but Millatfacebook.com which prohibits the ridicule of any faith and offers a very decent environment is” Objectionable” ………….
     “Objectionable” …………. Because http://www.millatfacebook.com is by Muslims and is uniting them on one platform????????
    Visit and join us: http://www.Millatfacebook.com

    But Alhamdurlillah they have been constantly DEFEATED successfully.
    All this has been phenomenal and miraculous. It is no ordinary feat and cannot
    be explained just by any traditional logics.
    All this is Allah’s blessings and YOUR support. So our heartily and deepest gratitude and CONGRATS goes to YOU.
    AND NOW THE ENEMY HAS GONE DESPARATE
    Mark’s FB has gone to further lows by putting pressure on our service provider
    BUT
    WE HAVE ALREADY MADE ARRANGEMENTS WHERE THEY HAVE NO INFLUENCE AND WILL CONTINUE OUR MISSION OF UNITING MUSLIMS….INSHALLAH.

    TOGETHER ……. WE WILL AGAIN DEFEAT THEM LIKE WE HAD CONSTANTLY.
    LET US ALL STAY UNITED AND DEFEAT THIS LAST DITCH DESPARATE ATTEMPT BY THE PATHETIC FB ADMINISTRATION.
    We will show them that we are united and together we CAN and we WILL WIN (InshAllah)
    Let’s meet at http://www.millatfacebook.com . Please spread this message of awareness to all your family, friends and contacts.
    Email us: [email protected]Recommend

  • Jun 15, 2010 - 11:54PM

    For me it looks like they have started it without even knowing what they really do.Recommend

  • Jun 16, 2010 - 7:45PM

    I am very happy that a Pakistani news paper is conducting this very healthy debate ,
    its a bitter reality that fake face book which is not even in any way like face-book and using only the name of prophet for the sake of money , it is really regretted that name of nation & PROPHET PEACE BE UPON HIM has used for personal agenda AND ON VERY CHEAP SORT OF SOFTWARE ,
    ITS SHAME NOT MORE THEN THAT !Recommend

  • Faisal
    Jun 17, 2010 - 9:54AM

    Assalam-O-Alaikum,

    i am very greatful to join millat faceook, the alternative of Infidel Facebook.Recommend

  • Jun 17, 2010 - 12:00PM

    I appreciate the team of MillatFacebook but I would love it if they had changed its name by not including the word “Facebook” as it looks a copy.
    Anyways.. Apart from that,there is this other website http://www.bugpace.com and other social network made by a group in karachi and they don’t want it to expose it soon until they have a complete success..they have hell lot more features, yet its an error free site. In a meeting with them..I got to know they din’t want to shout out soon about it and take media’s help as they believe in their own success and then media catching them up. I liked the idea. Lets see and wish them good luck.. but i appreciate that our pple r waking up and showing their talent. PAKISTAN ZINDABAD.Recommend

  • Alisha
    Jun 18, 2010 - 3:53PM

    @MOHAMMAD IMRAN KHAN
    First of all if u r a Muslim den u should respect Prophet Muhammad pbuh’s .If u dont know den writing in capital means shouting & one thing more mfb was even not created as a copy of fb n not 4 any personal interest and u have got no right to doubt others intentions bt one can expect this response from pessimists like u.Recommend

  • Alina
    Jun 18, 2010 - 4:20PM

    @ Cervet Cahn
    It is named millat face book because they are here to challenge facebook openly and show fb that Muslims are brave enough (not like u ppl back stabbers) and can do anything 4 our beloved Prophet Muhammad pbuh.Recommend

  • Jun 21, 2010 - 11:33PM

    i am very thankfull to all team of millat faceook,for the alternative of Infidel Facebook.Recommend

  • Atif
    Jun 26, 2010 - 6:28AM

    MFB is awesome and we love it

    2 weeks 334000 member and 14900 rank in over 6 billion sites by alexa

    way to go :)Recommend

  • saad
    Jul 26, 2010 - 3:50AM

    Aslaam U Alikum

    Stay away from MillatFacebook. They’re just using name of Allah and collecting money.

    MillatFacebook banning Muslims and blocking Muslim websites. They clearly state that don’t try to promote other Muslim websites here at MillatFacebook.

    I shocked to read the news that MillatFacebook need $50,000 donation to run the website. Are they going to launch Millatfacebook on moonRecommend

  • Aug 12, 2010 - 3:12PM

    Sir plz tell me creat new account in millat facebook.thanksssssssRecommend

  • ayesha
    Oct 8, 2010 - 4:36PM

    As all of us know that Facebook held competitions for drawing caricatures of Prophet Muhammad, Burn Quran day and many more

    Muslims around the world made Thousands of complaints against these virtual events BUT FaceBook administration did not deleted/ banned these pages and groups.

    In comparison to what they usually do even for very minor violation of Facebook Terms of Services or any posting against Jews.

    Millatfacebook is Pakistan’s very own, first social networking site.
    A site for Muslims by Muslims where sweet & peaceful people of other religions are also welcome so come and join hand in hand.

    Lets encourage this brave step and promote Unity of Muslim Ummah/Millat which is a need of hour
    As nothing could happen neither on earth nor in heavens without His will just to test the Emaan of muslims as He says in sora Mulk Ayah no 1 and 2. that,
    1) Blessed is He in Whose Hand is the dominion, and He is Able to do all things.

    2) Who has created death and life, that He may test you which of you is best in deed. And He is the All-Mighty, the Oft-Forgiving

    Now our test is to leave Facebook and join MFB , the Muslim’s very own social networking site. Go ahead and read about it on Wikipedia:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MillatFacebook

    May Allah Shows right path to all of us and bless us with His countless blessings lets join http://www.millatfacebook.com

    Ameen
    Ayesha Recommend

  • irfan
    Oct 21, 2010 - 1:49PM

    I found this informative and want to share with such a knowledgeable people like you

    Below is some information from a reputable site which you may find exciting.

    An Extract of the information from the link below (as of 18th October 2010 – there are slight daily fluctuations):
    • If Millatfacebook.com was a country it would be bigger than Greenland and Cayman’s Islands based on daily traffic
    • 1 in every 29,070 internet users visits MFB daily
    • Per CONSERVATIVE estimate, app 60,000 Unique visitors Daily

    http://www.sharenator.com/w/millatfacebook.com

    You will find more information including the geographical breakdown from the link above.
    In addition, it might be worth mentioning here that MFB is ONLY social networking site in the world where more than 2/3 rd of the users spend OVER 2 Hours which is pretty unique.

    It is also worth mentioning here that MFB is constantly improving and innovating. Not only does MFB offer all the features that any other social network does but many additional and unique ones like:
    • Free Live TV
    • Bulletins
    • Shout Box
    • Public Chat Rooms
    • Recipes Feature
    • e.t.c

    This is in additional to all the usual features where all members have their walls, ability to search and/or invite their friends, emailing, creating groups, fan pages, blogs, polls, putting status, sharing videos, sharing pictures, staying connected, e.t.c

    We know the journey is long but one we are well onto and with our strict respect for User’s privacy, MFB is placed well ahead of any social network.

    Kind Regards,

    Omer Zaheer Meer
    ACCA (UK), BSc (Hons) (UK), CAT (UK), Adv. Financial Diploma (UK),
    Certified Anti-Money Laundering Specialist (UK) & Certified CSM (LCCI & SMEDA – PAK)

    Professional Associations: PRIMA (USA), ACCA (UK), PRMIA (USA), UKSIP (UK), CFAI (USA), LCCI (PAK) & MPDD (PAK)Recommend

  • sania
    Oct 26, 2010 - 5:05PM

    Join this Group “United against Facebook’s ridiculing Prophet
    (P.B.U.H) Islam & now Holy Quran.

    [link=’http://millatfacebook.com/ad/id_10/’]Click here[/link]

    I hope you will do this , it takes not more then 2 minutes or
    5 minutes if you have very slow internet connection.Recommend

More in Gossip