Opposition parties ‘congratulate Balochistan’ over Senate victory

PPP, PTI leaders take to Twitter to celebrate victory in the upper house of parliament

Ali Mangi March 12, 2018
Imran Khan, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Jehangir Tareen and Sherry Rehman. PHOTO: EXPRESS

KARACHI: Soon after the opposition parties' candidates emerged as victorious on the two top slots in Senate, a number of political leaders took to Twitter to celebrate the victory and congratulate the winners.

Sadiq Sanjrani and Saleem Mandviwalla were elected as chairman and deputy chairman respectively in the upper house of parliament on Monday.

Sanjrani secured 57 votes while Pakistan Muslim League–Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Raja Zafarul Haq received 46 votes. Similarly, Mandviwalla  secured 54 votes against Usman Kakar’s 44.

Opposition candidates Sadiq Sanjrani, Saleem Mandviwalla win Senate top slots

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan congratulated Sanjrani and Balochistan as well.

While following their chief's foot-steps, senior PTI leaders Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Jehangir Tareen also expressed their reactions on the micro-blogging website.


Shireen Mazari, Dr Arif Alvi, Abdul Aleem Khan and Faisal Javed Khan of the Imran-led party also supported the great victory in Senate.


Meanwhile, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari also welcomed the new Senate chairman and dedicated the victory to "Federalism and Balochistan" and against "Zia's opening batsmen".

Another PPP leader Naz Baloch commended Sanjrani, believing her party has unlocked another achievement.

Senate elections: Profiles of candidates who vied for top slots

PPP leader Sherry Rehman expressed her backing to deputy chairman of the house, Saleem Mandviwalla.



Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ