ECP extends scrutiny time for Senate elections till midnight

Scrutiny of nomination papers of twenty candidates for seven general seats was completed today in KP

Irfan Ghauri/News Desk February 12, 2018
Candidates of Senate Election submitting nomination papers for election. PHOTO:APP

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), on Monday, extended the scrutiny time for the provinces of Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) for the upcoming Senate elections to 12:00 midnight tonight.

In an issued notice, the ECP wrote that the delay was "due to late submissions of details regarding dual nationality holders by the Ministry of Interior."

The ECP has received 34 nomination papers from Punjab, eight from Islamabad, 34 from Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, 28 from Balochistan and 49 from Sindh, and nine from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas, Radio Pakistan reports.

In Islamabad, Returning Officer Zafar Iqbal is carrying out the scrutiny in the presence of candidates and their representatives.

In Karachi, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidates for technocrats and women’s seats were present before Returning Officer Muhammad Yousuf Khattak for scrutiny of nomination papers.

28 candidates submit nomination papers for Senate election

Sindh Chief Minister Syed Murad Ali Shah, Senate Chairman Mian Raza Rabbani and other party leaders accompanied the candidates.

According to Election Commission officials in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa, scrutiny of nomination papers of 20 candidates for seven general seats was completed. The process for seats reserved for technocrats was completed a day earlier.
The scrutiny of nomination papers for two women’s seats is in progress.

Those who have submitted nomination papers from Balochistan include Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Amir Afzal Khan, National Party’s Muhammad Akram, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl’s Maulvi Faiz Muhammad, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party’s Muhammad Yousaf Khan Kakar and Sardar Shafiq Khan Tareen, Balochistan National Party-Mengal’s Hamayun Aziz Kurd and Awami National Party’s Nizamuddin Kakar. Independent candidates Muhammad Sadiq Sanjarani, Ahmed Khan, Abdul Qadir, Alauddin, Anwarul Haq Kakar, Kauda Babar, Hussain and Fateh Muhammad Baloch are also in the field.

Polling for the Senate seats will be held on March 3.

Facebook Conversations