AJK president’s slot PML-N, PPP candidates’ papers accepted

Khan has also served as spokesman for the Foreign Office

Our Correspondent August 11, 2016

MUZAFFARABAD: The Azad Jammu and Kashmir Election Commission (AJKEC) on Thursday accepted nomination papers of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML –N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) nominees for the slot of the AJK president.

The election commission accepted the nomination papers of PML-N candidate ambassador (retd) Masood Khan and PPP nominee Latif Akbar’s while the nomination papers of senior lawyer Mujahid Hussain Naqvi were rejected after none of the assembly members backed him.

The 49-members AJK assembly (lower house) and the six elected members of Kashmir Council (upper house) and Minister for Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan make the electoral college elect the new president.

Khan has also served as spokesman for the Foreign Office.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 12th, 2016.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read