Between Lahore-Multan: Pakistan Railways closes 6 stations

Published: July 13, 2016

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Railways has closed six railway stations between the Lahore-Multan routes, which were commercially not viable during the last five years. Technically, these stations were also not required to be retained after installation of computer based interlocking system (OBIS) and auto block signalling, said an official in the Ministry of Railways. The official said railway stations included Kana Kacha, Bhoe Asal, Sehjowal, Qadirabad, Kot Abbas Shaheed and Tatipur. There is no proposal under consideration to reopen these stations, he added. To a question, the official said that Mehrabpur Railway Station (District Naushehro Feroze) had not been closed and it was very much functional. At present eight pairs of trains stop daily for convenience of general public, the official added.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 13th, 2016.

Like Business on Facebook, follow @TribuneBiz on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan