Why do we call it the Schengen visa?

Here's a quick explainer

News Desk June 15, 2016

It’s on your mind before a trip and on your passport, but what’s the story of the Schengen visa?

The Schengen visa takes its name from the 1985 Schengen Agreement that abolished all internal borders within Europe, making the visa holder move almost anywhere in the continent.

All of the signatory countries agreed to maintain only an external border, inside which the citizens will be able to move freely.

EU set to grant Turkey visa-free travel in migrant deal: sources

Since the agreement was signed in the town of Schengen, Luxembourg; it was named after the place.

How many countries can be travelled by the Schengen visa holders?

With Schengen visa you cannot move anywhere in the European Union. That is because not all countries are part of the agreement. The countries that did not sign the agreement and hence cannot be travelled with the visa include Ireland, United Kingdom, Romania and Bulgaria.

However, there are other four countries – Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland – which are not part of the EU but still can be travelled with the Schengen visa because they had signed the agreement.

So, the countries travel-enthusiasts can travel with the Schengen Visa are:

  1. Switzerland

  2. France

  3. Germany

  4. Austria

  5. Greece

  6. Czech Republic

  7. Belgium

  8. Portugal

  9. Spain

  10. Sweden

  11. Denmark

  12. Estonia

  13. Finland

  14. Hungary

  15. Iceland

  16. Lithuania

  17. Luxembourg

  18. Latvia

  19. Malta

  20. The Netherlands

  21. Norway

  22. Poland

  23. Slovenia

  24. Slovakia

The article originally appeared on Conde Nast Traveller



AHK | 5 years ago | Reply @Another Indian: Because obviously, visas are for foreign nationals which includes Pakistanis. But never mind
Another Indian | 5 years ago | Reply Why is this a piece in a Pakistani newspaper?
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read