ICC Champions Trophy: Pakistan to take on defending champions India on June 4

Published: June 1, 2016


Pakistan will take on defending champions India on June 4 in the 2017 International Cricket Council (ICC) Champions Trophy at Edgbaston.

The ICC announced the schedule for the event on Wednesday with Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and South Africa pitted in Group B. Meanwhile, Group A comprises of Australia, New Zealand, England and Bangladesh.

PCB chief rules out dialogue on Pak-India series

The top two teams of each group will then face off in the semi-finals scheduled to take place on June 14 and 15, 2017.

The final will be played on June 18 with a reserve day also added in the schedule on June 19.

“The ICC Champions Trophy is a short and sharp event, which is followed and enjoyed by the spectators and players alike,” said ICC Chief Executive David Richardson as quoted by the world body’s official site.

How Facebook is uniting Pakistan, India cricket fans

“The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is not just an ODI competition, it carries a great deal of value since it is being played just three months before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 qualification cut-off date. As such, every point earned here could be crucial.

“The announcement of the ICC Champions Trophy schedule 12 months before the start of the event will provide sufficient time to all eight sides to plan for the tournament and arrive in England and Wales fully prepared and geared up so that they can collect enough points to directly qualify for the 2019 extravaganza.”

The ICC Champions Trophy will also be the first of three global tournaments the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) will be hosting over the next three years. Immediately after the ICC Champions Trophy, the ICC Women’s World Cup will be staged while the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, the pinnacle of the 50-over format, will be held in 2019.

Imran urges India for a cricket series with Pakistan

“These three competitions will provide the culturally diverse society of the United Kingdom as well as travelling fans from across the globe an opportunity to watch live action and follow their favourite players and sides.”

ECB’s Director Events, Steve Elworthy said they are happy to host the event after they did it back in 2013.

“The ICC Champions Trophy was a huge success in 2013, with packed grounds and thrilling cricket, so we look forward to welcoming it back to England and Wales this time next year,” said Elworthy.

“It will start three years of global events in England and Wales, with the ICC Women’s World Cup following shortly after and then the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019. It is without doubt an exciting time for cricket in this country.”

Do you think Pakistan can qualify for the semis of the 2017 Champions Trophy?

  • No (58%, 160 Votes)
  • Yes (42%, 118 Votes)

Total Voters: 278

Loading ... Loading ...


Thur, 1 June – England v Bangladesh, The Oval (d)
Fri, 2 June – Australia v New Zealand, Edgbaston (d)
Sat, 3 June – Sri Lanka v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Sun, 4 June – India v Pakistan, Edgbaston (d)
Mon, 5 June – Australia v Bangladesh, The Oval (d/n)
Tues, 6 June – England v New Zealand, Cardiff (d)
Wed, 7 June – Pakistan v South Africa, Edgbaston (d/n)
Thurs, 8 June – India v Sri Lanka, The Oval (d)
Fri, 9 June – New Zealand v Bangladesh, Cardiff (d)
Sat, 10 June – England v Australia, Edgbaston (d)
Sun, 11 June – India v South Africa, The Oval (d)
Mon, 12 June – Sri Lanka v Pakistan, Cardiff (d)
Wed, 14 June – First semi-final (A1 v B2), Cardiff (d)
Thurs, 15 June – Second semi-final (A2 v B1), Edgbaston (d)
Sun, 18 June – Final, The Oval (d)
Mon, 19 June – Reserve day (d)

Facebook Conversations

More in Sports