By-election: Independent candidate wins district council seat in Haripur

Muhammad Nawaz won the seat with 2,380 votes

Our Correspondent May 06, 2016

HARIPUR: The by-election on a district council seat in Haripur was held amid tight security on Thursday. An independent candidate Haji Muhammad Nawaz won the seat. As per unofficial results gathered from the office of Haripur Assistant Election Commissioner, there were three independent candidates in the run for the district council seat. After peaceful polling on Thursday, Muhammad Nawaz won with 2,380 votes. His rivals, Tahir Javed Khan Jadoon and Ali Asghar, bagged 2,043 and 1,100 votes, respectively. The district council's seat of union council Kholiyan Bala fell vacant when Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's district councillor Javed Khan Jadoon was assassinated on the premises of district courts in Haripur on December 19, 2015. He was elected from Kholiyan Bala union council. Meanwhile, Muhammad Ayaz from Sera-e-Saleh village council and Khizran Jan Bibi from Hally village council were also elected as general councillors.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read