Pakistan-US ties: TTP keenly watching parliamentary review

Published: March 20, 2012

We are interested to know what political leaders decide, says top militant.

ISLAMABAD: 

Pakistani Taliban will be watching keenly when Parliament begins on Tuesday a long overdue review of the country’s war on terror cooperation with the United States and may announce a ceasefire if the outcome is of their liking.

“We are interested to know what political leaders decide… if they come up with a clear stance against drone attacks and supplies for Americans in Afghanistan we can end our war,” said a top militant commander on Monday.

“We want Pakistan not to allow Nato and the US to its soil for their supplies. We expect political parties take a firm step on it,” said the commander, who is close to Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan deputy chief Waliur Rehman Mehsud.

The TTP also wants the government to announce a complete departure from the policy of supporting global campaign against terrorism, release of their detained commanders and withdrawal of the military from the tribal belt.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 20th, 2012.

Reader Comments (20)

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 10:03AM

    Pakistan dont make this mistake, dont resume the supplies

    Recommend

  • Sky
    Mar 20, 2012 - 10:09AM

    TTP has no say in Pakistani politics. They are murderers . Who openly claims killings and taking credit in suicide blasts in which many innocent civilians die every day. They are terrorist and should not get front page coverage at all.

    Recommend

  • MarkH
    Mar 20, 2012 - 10:30AM

    You heard them. Be sure to make jokes at TTP’s expense when you get the chance. They’re listening.

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 10:41AM

    The scary thing for me as an Indian is that most the demands of TTP is the election manifesto of the most popular leader in Pakistan- Imran Khan.

    Recommend

  • Ali syed
    Mar 20, 2012 - 11:08AM

    Exactly…Pak govt should act firmly on warr on terror or probally one must say “War of terror”. This is not our war and we should not scrifies our economy and miilitry strength on this wild goose chase!!!!

    Recommend

  • Kaleem
    Mar 20, 2012 - 11:10AM

    Dignified nations find many more ways to make money! Don’t resume supplies and not do the trade on martyred soldiers.

    Recommend

  • Haroon abbasi
    Mar 20, 2012 - 11:32AM

    TTP is totally a terrorist party but NATO supplies should remained block

    Recommend

  • rsk
    Mar 20, 2012 - 12:04PM

    In India our politicians for sake of votes do “Minority Appeasement” and in Pakistan it’s “Terrorist Appeasement”.

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 2:06PM

    Who are they to expect anything from us?? They’ve killed us, blown us to pieces and then have the nerve to tell us that they have expectations from us??!! #outrage

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 2:19PM

    @BruteForce:
    Because these demands are justified and IK understands the problem and want to end this war.

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 3:13PM

    What decision they take is none of your business. One point is that your days are numbered.

    Recommend

  • huzaifa
    Mar 20, 2012 - 3:34PM

    wow!!!! Now no body to blame( ISI, ESTABLISHMENT, MULLAHS) Lets see what politicians and people’s representatives fulfill their task. Decisive moment, either they will stop the TTP or they will ignite it…….

    Recommend

  • vasan
    Mar 20, 2012 - 4:02PM

    Pak is caught between frying pan and the fire. If they allow NATO trucks, it may please US but TTP attacks will start. If they dont allow NATO trucks, Pak can expect sanctions, more sanctions and isolation. Doomed if u do, and doomed if u dont. Let me see how Pak wriggles out of this one. Ghairat or Beghairat ??/

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 5:42PM

    @BruteForce:
    PTI is against the use of ‘Brute Force’. Doesn’t matter what the world (or Indians) say; we want PEACE on our own land. Thats all.

    Recommend

  • Falcon
    Mar 20, 2012 - 5:45PM

    @BruteForce:
    Last time I checked TTP also eats food and drinks water. Let’s stop consuming those as well. Who cares what TTP thinks…the war is costing us more than we might be willing to admit…and that’s the only reason Pakistan should pull out of it.

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 6:54PM

    We are all well aware of the TTP’s atrocities and the threat they pose to the region. They have been long attempting to destabilize the region, and thousands of deaths can be attributed to their acts of terror. They are also well aware that our partnership creates a big hurdle and prevents them from furthering their evil agenda. Therefore, it is not really a surprise that they are trying to influence the outcome of the parliament review. They would love to see us part ways, so they can continue their evil mission without any fear. We have come too far and made too many sacrifices to now just give up on achieving our common goals. Terrorist organizations like the TTP have already caused enough damage, and the time has come for us to put an end to their reign of terror. We must not allow our differences to shift the advantage over to our common enemies. We must work together and focus on bringing peace and stability to the region.

    Recommend

  • Mar 20, 2012 - 8:09PM

    Well, what every happens, I am not so hopeful of good things happening if Imran Khan comes, I just hope the blow doesn’t reach India.

    Recommend

  • MarkH
    Mar 21, 2012 - 5:18AM

    @Tehreek-e-Insaf FATA:
    There’s a difference between peace seeking and being a naive punching bag.

    Recommend

  • Tahira
    Mar 21, 2012 - 8:55AM

    TTP is a creation of CIA.

    Recommend

  • usman786
    Mar 21, 2012 - 9:08AM

    We should still give one more chance to N and Z : am sure that they will will be more wise. After 3 times experienceRecommend

More in Pakistan