Labour minister’s academic paper found ‘irrelevant’

HEC has handed over to the a fresh list of parliamentarians whose degrees are either illegible or irrelevant.

August 06, 2010

ISLAMABAD: The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has handed over to the Election Commission (EC) a fresh list of parliamentarians whose degrees are either illegible or irrelevant documents have been submitted by them. Minister for Labour and Manpower Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah also features in the list.

The fresh list, available with The Express Tribune, contains the names of 10 members of the National Assembly, nine Punjab Assembly members and three deputies of the Balochistan Assembly .

It is learnt that Khursheed Shah had submitted a provisional certificate showing that he had passed his LLB exam back in the ‘80s. But the Higher Education Commission has returned the document to the Election Commission and asked for a copy of Shah’s bachelor’s degree instead of other irrelevant documents.

Besides Khursheed Shah, the list contains names of some prominent members, including Chairperson of the National Assembly standing committee on law and justice Naseem Akhtar Chaudhry.

Parliamentary Secretary for Interior Captain (retd) Ghulam Mujtaba Kharral is also among those MPs whose documents are either illegible or do not contain roll number and registration number.

The name of Justice (retd) Iftikhar Ahmed Cheema who belongs to the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz also figures in the list.

The HEC has also raised objections on the qualification documents of Syed Zafar Ali Shah, one of the senior members of the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).

Moreover, the HEC has also returned the copies of degrees submitted by Ishrat Ashraf, Akram Masih Gil, Haji Muhammad Umar and Areesh Kumar.

In Punjab, the members whose degrees have been returned are Muhammad Javed Iqbal, Muhammad Waris Kalo, Adil Hussain, Raja Ejaz Ahmed Noon, Karam Dad Wahla, Malik Iqbal Ahmed Langriyal, Dr. Faiza Asghar, Tayyaba Zameer and Nargis Zafar.

Three members of the Balochistan Assembly are Haji Muhammad Nawaz, Mir Nasir Khan Jamali and Zahoor Hussain Khan Khosa whose documents have been returned by the HEC.

Sources said the HEC has asked the Election Commission to ask for original documents of these MPs whose copies of degrees are illegible or they have submitted irrelevant documents.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 7th, 2010


Shahryar Ahmed | 11 years ago | Reply Dear Mr. Adeel, Please do not be surprised, you will maybe not believe but our countries highest judges (serving & retd.) cannot write their own judgments in proper English. Everyone talks about independent judiciary, when they should first ask for competent judges. Did you know that not senior most, but those lawyers who are not successful in their own practice become judges. Do you know, that when one fails in all disciplines (education) & cant get admission in higher education/professional colleges opt for law. This has become of our countries law fraternity. All hail democracy!!!!!!
Tauseef Gilani | 11 years ago | Reply great idea from fellow reader Syed A Mateen. May I suggest rules and basic requirements to become a member of FDC: 1- Use of credit cards other than your own or your spouse. (receipts required) 2- Misuse of official transport. (please submit petrol receipts for diesel vehicles) 3- healthcare in UK hospitals. (please submit bills for self, spouse, children, servants, uncle, aunty, include dead relatives for making your case strong) 4- Must have atleast two SUV's for self and two saloon cars for wife. (due to extra weight members may not fit in one vehicle).Minimum requirement is Landcruser and BMW. 5- must wear designer clothes, shoes and watches. undergarments can be local made because noone sees them. Must have golf kit. (no membership for golf club required since poor golf clubs have only 18 holes...why not 20 or 30 or 50. I request other readers to contribute in making some more rules. The goal is to have atleast 100 rules...
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read