Preparing for race: 650 candidates submit nominations

Published: March 31, 2013

National Assembly, Parliament House. PHOTO: ONLINE


More than 150 candidates have submitted their nomination papers for 14 National Assembly seats in Balochistan, while more than 500 candidates have submitted nominations for 51 provincial assembly seats.

With the deadline for submission of nominations expiring today (Sunday), many prominent politicians have yet not submitted their forms.

NA-260 seemed to be the hottest pick with nominations submitted by Pakistan Peoples Party’s Sardar Umer Gorgaij, independent candidate Hafiz Hussain Ahmed, Awami National Party’s Naik Muhammad Kakar, Pir Buksh, Muhammad Yousaf Shahwani, Muhammd Arif, Rakshani, Pakhtoon Milli Awami Party’s Abdul Rahim Mandokhail, Dilwar Khan, Engineer Dilber Khan, Mir Zarak Zehri, Karam Dad Sumalani, Sardar Ataullah, and Muhammad Raza.

For NA-259, PkMAP’s Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Hazara Democratic Party’s Abdul Khaliq Hazara, BNP-A’s Qayoum Baloch, Malik Jannat Gul Kakar, Tahir Khan Hazara, Bismillah Khan Khilji, Ghulam Hussain, Syed Arif  Hussain and  Qasim Khan Soori have submitted forms.

Published in The Express Tribune, March 31st, 2013.

The Most Popular News of the day in your Inbox daily.

More in Pakistan